category: science and culture

[UPDATE] Special Issue: Steampunk, Science, and (Neo)Victorian Technologies

full name / name of organization: 
Rachel Bowser and Brian Croxall / Neo-Victorian Studies
contact email: 
rachel.bowser@gmail.com, b.croxall@gmail.com

Neo-Victorian Studies invites papers and/or abstracts for a 2009 special issue on neo-Victorianism’s engagement with science and new/old technologies, especially as articulated through the genre of

Deconstruction and Environmentalism: Oxford Literary Review, vol. 31.1 (July 2010),

full name / name of organization: 
Timothy Clark, co-editor, Oxford Literary Review
contact email: 
T.J.Clark@durham.ac.uk

Oxford Literary Review, vol. 31.1 (July 2010), call for papers.

Deconstruction and Environmentalism

Cultures of Recession Graduate Conference [Nov. 20& 21, 2009]

full name / name of organization: 
Program in Literature, Duke University
contact email: 
culturesofrecession@gmail.com


Cultures of Recession
An Interdisciplinary Graduate Student Conference Hosted by The Program in Literature, Duke University
November 20 & 21, 2009

Keynote Speaker: Stanley Aronowitz (CUNY), author of How Class Works and Just Around The Corner: The Paradox of a Jobless Recovery

CFP: Teaching Science Fiction: History, Theory and Text (Last Date: 16 July 2009)

full name / name of organization: 
Amit Sarwal
contact email: 
sarwal.amit@gmail.com

Teaching Science Fiction: History, Theory and Text

Edited by Geetha B. and Amit Sarwal

Teaching Science Fiction: History, Theory and Text (16 July 2009)

full name / name of organization: 
Geetha B.
contact email: 
bgbits@gmail.com

Teaching Science Fiction: History, Theory and Text

Edited by Geetha B. and Amit Sarwal

European Journal of English Studies, Vol. 15 Matter and Material Culture 2011

full name / name of organization: 
Università degli studi della Calabria; Università degli studi di Salerno; Routledge
contact email: 
mcalbi@unisa.it; m.parlati@unical.it

European Journal of English Studies, Vol. 15
Matter and Material Culture
Deadline for proposals: 13 November 2009

Guest Editors: Maurizio Calbi & Marilena Parlati.

CFP: Humor & Horror/SF/Fantasy - Detroit, MI, 10.30-11.1.09

full name / name of organization: 
Midwest PCA/ACA
contact email: 
jdowell@msu.edu

Dear Humor / Horror, SF, Fantasy Scholar:

Disposable Culture and Spaces of Consumption in Medieval Europe

full name / name of organization: 
Rebecca Flynn and Salvatore Musumeci
contact email: 
Rebecca.Flynn@usiouxfalls.edu and Salvatore.Musumeci@usiouxfalls.edu

Call for Papers:
Disposable Culture and Spaces of Consumption in Medieval Europe

Nineteenth Century Popular Culture Panel - Proposals May 1 2009 - Conference October 30-November 1 2009

full name / name of organization: 
Midwest Popular Culture Association / American Culture Association
contact email: 
pprominski@gmail.com

The MPCA/ACA is seeking paper proposals that address any aspect of 19th century American popular culture.

Re(Viewing) the Landscape of Visual Rhetoric: Topics in Visual Rhetoric; SAMLA Conf. Nov 6-8, 2009; Abstracts Due May 31, 2009

full name / name of organization: 
Mary Hocks, English Dept, Georgia State University
contact email: 
mhocks@gsu.edu

RE(VIEWING) THE LANDSCAPE OF VISUAL RHETORIC: TOPICS IN VISUAL RHETORIC

Syndicate content