Sarasvati Nonfiction Book Award Notification

full name / name of organization: 
Association for the Study of Women and Mythology

The Sarasvati Book Award solicits nonfiction books published during 2013-2015 in the field of goddess studies. Named for the Hindu goddess of learning and the creative arts, the Sarasvati award from the Association for the Study of Women and Mythology (ASWM) honors creative work in the field of goddess and mythology studies. The award will be presented during ASWM's biennial conference, Boston, April 1-2, 2016.

Past winners include Sacred Display: Divine and Magical Female Figures of Eurasia by Miriam Robbins Dexter and Voctor H. Mair (Cambria, 2010). and The Dancing Goddesses: Folklore, Archaeology and the Origins of European Dance, by Elizabeth Wayland Barber (Norton, 2013).

Note to Publishers

Please submit books for consideration and guidelines queries at this email address: Deadline for submissions is December 1, 2015; the winner will be notified by February 25 2016.

The award covers books published during the past two calendar years. Nominations must come from the publisher. Self-published books and anthologies are not eligible for the award.

Criteria for Submission

· Must be published in the last two calendar years

· Must belong to the field of goddess studies and mythology

· Must add to and enhance the field of goddess and mythology studies with distinction

· Must demonstrate an original approach to goddess and mythology studies in all its diversity