Bonnie Jo Campbell and the Midwest – SSML Conference

deadline for submissions: 
January 1, 2019
full name / name of organization: 
Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature
contact email: 

We invite paper proposals for a special panel sequence on Bonnie Jo Campbell, who will receive the 2019 Mark Twain Award for Outstanding Contributions to Midwestern Literature. These papers will be presented at the 49th annual symposium of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature in East Lansing, Michigan, on May 16-18, 2019.

Bonnie Jo Campbell, a native of Kalamazoo, Michigan, is the acclaimed author of three short-story collections—Women & Other Animals (1999), American Salvage (2008), and Mothers, Tell Your Daughters (2015)—and two novels—Q Road (2002) and Once Upon a River (2011). She was a finalist for the National Book Award and National Book Critics’ Circle Award in 2009 for American Salvage, and she has been called a master of rural American fiction and Midwest noir. The panel organizers are seeking proposals on any aspect of Campbell’s fiction, especially as her work pertains to our understanding of the American Midwest as a region, place, space, or idea. Proposals may also focus on Campbell’s attention to gender, class, and rurality, among other ideas. The panel organizers plan to edit a special issue of SSML’s peer-reviewed journal Midwestern Miscellany on Campbell and her work.

Note: Submit your proposal directly to the panel organizers, rather than to the society conference portal. The organizers will then select panelists and submit the panel on behalf of all participants.

Please submit a 250-word proposal, along with a brief CV, to both Dr. Andy Oler ( and Dr. Ross K. Tangedal ( by January 1, 2019 for full consideration.

Student scholarships for travel

Joseph Wydeven Scholarships are available to students whose proposals are accepted. If you are a graduate student, please indicate that you will be applying for the scholarship should your proposal be accepted. The scholarship will cover the following: 1) the membership fee for one year, 2) one ticket for the conference awards banquet, and 3) some reimbursement to help defray travel and hotel accommodations (based on distance traveled).