CFP: [General] The Booker Prize and India

full name / name of organization: 
Dr.Nilanshu Kumar Agarwal
contact email: 

A full-length novel, written by a citizen of the Commonwealth, the
Republic of Ireland or Zimbabwe is eligible for the Booker Prize. The
reputation of the prize is sure to transform the fortunes of the author,
who receives it. This prestigious prize has been won by four Indiansâ€"
Salman Rushdie (Midnight’s Children, 1981), Arundhati Roy (The God of
Small Things, 1997), Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss, 2006) and
Arvinda Adiga (The White Tiger, 2008). Since the award of this prize to
Indians, IWE has become a force to reckon with. The present anthology of
critical essays on the Booker Prize winners, hailing from India proposes
to analyze the works of these masters. The book will include the papers
only on those Booker Prize winning novelists, who were born in India. The
title of the anthology will be The Booker Prize and India.
Previously unpublished research papers are invited from scholars,
interested in interpreting these novels. The anthology may also include
some general articles on the topic of Booker Prize vis-a-vis India and
shortlisted and longlisted novels from India. The papers should be marked
by sharp critical acumen and analyze these novels in the light of
contemporary critical thought.
The deadline for the submission of the papers is August 31, 2009.
The papers may be sent to Dr. Nilanshu Kumar Agarwal{Senior Lecturer in
English, Feroze Gandhi College, Rae Bareli (U.P.), India} at the
following email.

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Tue Feb 10 2009 - 07:08:32 EST