CFP: [Computing-Internet] ICFA-30: Call for Papers

full name / name of organization: 
Graham J. Murphy
contact email: 

The 30th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts
Time and the Fantastic

The 30th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts will be held
March 18-22, 2009, at the Orlando Airport Marriott in Orlando, Florida. The
conference begins at 3pm on Wednesday and ends at 1 am on Sunday upon the
conclusion of the conference banquet. Malcolm J. Edwards and Brian
Stableford write that “the metaphysics of time continues to intrigue
writers inside and outside the genre” of the fantastic; thus, the focus of
ICFA-30 is on the intriguing relationships between time and the fantastic.
Papers are invited to explore this topic in science fiction, fantasy,
horror, and other related modes of the fantastic. In addition, we
especially look forward to papers on the work of our honored guests:

Guest of Honor: Guy Gavriel Kay, Aurora Award-winning, Caspar
Award-winning, and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award-nominated author of the
Fionavar Tapestry (The Summer Tree, The Wandering Fire, The Darkest Road),
Tigana, A Song for Arbonne, and The Last Light of the Sun

Guest of Honor: Robert Charles Wilson, Hugo Award-winning author of Axis,
Spin, The Chronoliths, Darwinia, Mysterium, and A Bridge of Years

Guest Scholar: Maria Nikolajeva, author of The Aesthetic Approach to
Children’s Literature (Scarecrow), The Rhetoric of Children’s Literature
(Scarecrow), and From Mythic to Linear: Time in Children’s Literature

As always, we also welcome proposals for individual papers and for academic
sessions and panels on any aspect of the fantastic in any media. The
deadline is October 31, 2008.

We encourage work from institutionally-affiliated scholars, independent
scholars, international scholars who work in languages other than English,
graduate students, and undergraduate students.

The Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for an Essay Not in English is open to all
members of the IAFA. The IAFA Graduate Student Award is open to all
graduate students presenting papers at the year’s conference. Details are
available via Robin Reid, Second Vice-President
( Finally, the Dell Magazines Undergraduate
Science Fiction Award will also be handed out at this year’s conference.

Visit for more details.

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Sat Aug 09 2008 - 23:36:35 EDT