CFP: [Bibliography] Society for Textual Scholarship annual conference, NYU (10/31/08; 3/18-21/09)

full name / name of organization: 
John Young
contact email: 


The Society for Textual Scholarship
Fourteenth Biennial International Interdisciplinary Conference
March 18-21, 2009, New York University

Program Co-Chairs: Andrew Stauffer, University of Virginia []; John Young,
Marshall University []

Deadline for Proposals: October 31, 2008

Plenary Speakers include George Bornstein, Hans Walter Gabler, Matt Kirschenbaum, Laura
Mandell, Dwight McBride, Robert Scholes, Joseph Viscomi, ,and Cliff Wulfman.

The Program Chairs invite the submission of full panels or individual papers devoted to
interdisciplinary discussion of current research into particular aspects of textual work: the
discovery, enumeration, description, bibliographical analysis, editing, annotation, and mark-up
of texts in disciplines such as literature, history, musicology, classical and biblical studies,
philosophy, art history, legal history, history of science and technology, computer science,
library science, lexicography, epigraphy, paleography, codicology, cinema studies, media studies,
theater, linguistics, and textual and literary theory. We are particularly interested in papers and
panels, as well as workshops and roundtables, on the following topics, aimed at a broad,
interdisciplinary audience:

Textual production and the social sphere
Textual cultures
Digital editing and textuality
The production and editing of “minority” texts
Theoretical and practical intersections between textual scholarship and book history
Textual scholarship and pedagogy

Papers should be no more than 20 minutes in length. Panels should consist of three papers or
presentations. Individual proposals should include a brief abstract (one or two pages) of the
proposed paper as well as the name, e-mail address, and institutional affiliation of the
participant. Panel proposals, including proposals for roundtables and workshops, should include
a session title, the name of a designated contact person for the session, the names, e-mail
addresses, and institutional addresses and affiliations of each person involved in the session, and
a one- or two-page abstract of each paper to be presented during the session. Abstracts should
indicate what (if any) technological support will be requested.

Inquiries and proposals should be submitted electronically to:

Professor Andrew Stauffer
email address:
Department of English
University of Virginia
219 Bryan Hall
PO Box 400121
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4121


Professor John Young, email address:
Department of English
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755
(304) 696-2349
(304) 696-2448 (fax)
All participants in the STS 2009 conference must be members of STS. For information about
membership, please contact Secretary Meg Roland at or visit the
Indiana University Press Journals website <> and follow the links to the
Society for Textual Scholarship membership page. For conference updates and information, see
the STS website: <>.

Papers presented at the conference will be considered for publication in TEXTUAL CULTURES.

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Sun Sep 07 2008 - 13:39:41 EDT