CFP: [Renaissance] Andrew Marvell

full name / name of organization: 
Timothy Raylor
contact email: 

Andrew Marvell Society at the South-Central Renaissance Conference

5-7 March 2009, Hot Springs, Arkansas

Deadline: 1 December 2008

The University of Central Arkansas will host Exploring the Renaissance 2009
on March 5-7 at the Arlington Hotel in Hot Springs, Arkansas, a city famous
for its natural hot springs. The Arlington is a distinguished old hotel
that in its heyday hosted such luminaries as Franklin Delano Roosevelt and
Al Capone. Situated on the edge of Hot Springs National Park, it continues
to function as a spa resort and stands on a boulevard that includes
restored bath houses from the early twentieth century, some very good
restaurants, and a number of art galleries. The horses will be running at
Oaklawn Racetrack during that weekend and a shuttle bus will run hourly
between The Arlington and the track. Conference attendees may wish to stay
over on Saturday night and spend that afternoon at the Clinton Presidential
Library in Little Rock.

Full details about the conference will be posted at the SCRC website:

Abstracts only (400-500 words; a shorter 100-word abstract for inclusion in
the program), for papers of no more than 20 minutes reading time, should be
submitted online no later than December 1, 2008 via the SCRC website's
abstract submission form.

Proposals are especially welcomed on the following topics:
• Marvell and Milton
• Royalist Marvell
• Marvell and Europe
• Marvell’s Poetry and the Sister Arts
• Marvell’s Dialogue Poems
Sessions should be proposed no later than October 31, 2008.

Program participants are required to join SCRC and are encouraged to submit
publication-length versions of their papers to the SCRC journal,
Explorations in Renaissance Culture.

For more information, please consult Timothy Raylor (Carleton College);

2008 OFFICERS: Sean McDowell, President; Nigel Smith, Vice President;
Nicholas von Maltzahn, Past President; George Klawitter, Publications
Officer/Webmaster; Timothy Raylor, Executive Secretary
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Joan Faust (2008-11); Jacob Blevins (2008-11)

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Wed Sep 10 2008 - 11:02:21 EDT