CFP: [Theatre] ATHE Theatre History Focus Group Debut Panel

full name / name of organization: 
Daniel Smith
contact email: 

The Theatre History Focus Group of ATHE (Association for Theatre in Higher
Education) invites submissions for its Debut Panel from scholars who have
not yet published articles or presented at a national conference.

The deadline for submissions is January 25, 2008.

Essays must address the history of theatre practice, but the parameters are
broad. Certainly, an active engagement with historiographical theory,
methodologies, and/or dramatic literature is welcome. Papers may consider
the conference theme ("Difficult Dialogues"), but this is not required.

Submissions will be evaluated by a jury of three theatre scholars. This
year's judges are Natalya Baldyga (Florida State University), Tracy C.
Davis (Northwestern University), and Suk-Young Kim (UC Santa Barbara). The
top three papers will be presented at the conference in Denver. Papers
should be standard conference length for a twenty-minute presentation (8 to
10 pages). Presenters should plan to be at the ATHE conference, which will
take place July 31-August 3 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Denver, Colorado.

Send FOUR hard copies of your paper, along with a cover sheet to the
following address:

Daniel Smith
Theatre and Interpretation Center
1949 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208

Please do NOT put your name on the paper. On a cover sheet, include the
title of your paper, your name, address, telephone, and e-mail address. You
will be informed about the judges’ decisions by April 1, 2008.

Questions? Email Daniel Smith, Theatre History Focus Group Vice-Chair, at, or Gad Guterman, Focus Group Student
Representative, at

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Wed Nov 28 2007 - 21:29:49 EST