CFP: [African-American] Conference Announcement

full name / name of organization: 
Sonja L. Lanehart
contact email: 

Announcing the African American Women's Language Conference '08, March 7-
8, 2008, at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk, San Antonio, Texas. Sponsored by
Dr. Sonja L. Lanehart, Brackenridge Endowed Chair, Professor of English
and Linguistics, University of Texas at San Antonio.

Panel topics include Variation in AAWL including Caribbean Languages,
AAWL and Racial Identity, AAWL in/and Literature, AAWL in Education,
Society, and Popular Culture.

Featured speakers include Grisel Acosta, Jennifer Bloomquist, Anne
Charity, Renée Price, Charles DeBose, Jessica DeCuir-Gundy, Adrienne
Dixson, Shelome Gooden, Lisa Green, Lanita Jacobs-Huey, Joycelyn Moody,
Marcyliena Morgan, Iyabo Osiapem, Terri Pantuso, Jacquelyn Rahman, Elaine
Richardson, Angela Rickford, Arthur Spears, Denise Troutman, and Alicia

The website is currently under construction, but should be up and running
by December 1, 2007. For more information regarding the conference,
contact Sonja Lanehart at (210) 458-6610, or

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Sun Nov 25 2007 - 11:33:03 EST