T.S. Eliot International Summer School, 27 June – 4 July 2009

full name / name of organization: 
Institute of English Studies, School of Advanced Study, University of London
contact email: 

T.S. Eliot International Summer School, 27 June – 4 July 2009
Director: Professor Ronald Schuchard (Emory University).
Executive Director: Dr Wim Van Mierlo (University of London).

The Summer School will bring together some of the most distinguished scholars of T.S. Eliot and Modern Literature, including Jewel Spears Brooker (Eckerd College), Robert Crawford (University of St Andrews), Anthony Cuda (University of North Carolina), Denis Donoghue (New York University), Mark Ford (University College London), Jennifer Formichelli (Boston University), Lyndall Gordon (University of Oxford), Jason Harding (University of Durham), Barbara Hardy (University of London), Gail McDonald (University of Southampton), A. David Moody (University of York), Christopher Ricks (Boston University), Ronald Schuchard (Emory University) and Wim Van Mierlo (Institute of English Studies, University of London). The School will be opened by Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney.

The School will present two lectures each morning on all aspects of Eliot's life and writing. Afternoon seminars are devoted to a week-long, in-depth study of Eliot's work. Students can select from such topics as Introduction to T.S. Eliot; The Early Poems; The Making of The Waste Land; The Later Poems; Eliot as a Dramatist; Eliot as a Literary and Cultural Critic. An extensive social programme will include poetry readings, a walking tour of Eliot's London, and excursions to Little Gidding, Burnt Norton, and East Coker.

For enquiries, registration and programme information:
http://ies.sas.ac.uk; Tel: +44 (0)20 7862-8680
E-mail: cmps@sas.ac.uk