The Booker Prize and India

full name / name of organization: 
Dr.Nilanshu Kumar Agarwal
contact email: 

A full-length novel written by a citizen of the Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland or Zimbabwe is eligible for the Booker Prize. The reputation of the prize is sure to transform the fortunes of the author who receives it. This prestigious prize has been won by four Indians—Salman Rushdie (Midnight's Children, 1981), Arundhati Roy (The God of Small Things, 1997), Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss, 2006) and Aravind Adiga (The White Tiger, 2008). With the award of this prize to Indians, Indian Writing in English (IWE) has become a force to be reckoned with. The present anthology of critical essays proposes to analyse  the above  Booker-winning novels and the general subject of the Booker and India. The title of the anthology will be The Booker Prize and India. Previously unpublished research papers are invited from scholars.  The following will be considered as falling within the scope of this project::  - papers on any of the four novels- comparative studies involving these novels with the other works by their authors or works by other IWE writers- papers on  other  IWE works that were longlisted or shortlisted for the Booker- general studies on the subject of "the Booker and India " The anthology is in the final stages of preparation, yet some space is still left to accommodate certain papers on Midnight's Children and The Inheritance of Loss.Papers should be marked by sharp critical acumen and analyze the novels in the light of contemporary critical thought. The deadline for the submission of papers on these novels is November 30, 2009. Papers may be sent to Dr. Nilanshu Kumar Agarwal {Senior Lecturer in English, Feroze Gandhi College , Rae Bareli (U.P.), India } at the following email: