Drama at NeMLA (4/7-11/11; 9/30/11

full name / name of organization: 
Northeast Modern Language Association
contact email: 
nemlasupport2@gmail.com

Call for Papers for Drama
at

42nd Annual Convention, Northeast Modern Language Association (NeMLA)
April 7-10, 2011
New Brunswick, NJ – Hyatt New Brunswick
Host Institution: Rutgers University

Among the 370 Sessions accepting abstracts are the following looking for essays on drama and theatre:

*Wilde Family Values, Chair: Stetz, Margaret D., University of Delaware, stetzm@udel.edu
*The Performative City: Contemporary Spanish Urban Culture, Chair: Palmer, Molly; Plunkett, Candace, Rutgers University; mlpal@rci.rutgers.edu; cplunket@eden.rutgers.edu
*Facing In-Yer-Face Drama, Chair: Bartley, Sean, American Repertory Theatre, itensemble@gmail.com
*Intersections of language and culture: Sprachgemisch, métissage & code-switching, Chair: Even, Susanne, Indiana University, evens@indiana.edu
*Islam in Contemporary Italy, Chair: Rossi Wagner, Johanna, Rutgers University, jrwagner@rutgers.edu
*2001-2011: Terror and Trauma on the Post-9/11 Spanish Stage, Chair: Doll, Eileen, Loyola University New Orleans, edoll@loyno.edu
*L’Altro Tasso: A Discussion of Tasso’s ‘Not-So-Minor’ Works, Chair: Brazeau, Bryan, New York University, bryan.brazeau@nyu.edu
*Social Issues in American Drama, Chair: Usekes, Cigdem, Western Connecticut State University, usekesc@wcsu.edu
*Traditional and Modern Medicine in Caribbean Literature, Chair: Savory, Elaine, New School University, savorye@newschool.edu
*Crossing Borders and Performing Gender on the Spanish-Speaking Stage, Chair: DiFrancesco, Maria, Ithaca College, mdifrancesco@ithaca.edu
*Anti-Hero and Victims in the Spanish Theatre of the 21st Century, Chair: Fialdini Zambrano, Rossana, McGill University, rossana.fialdinizambrano@mcgill.ca
*Label Me Latina or Latino, Chair: Quinn-Sanchez, Kathryn, Georgian Court University, ksanchez@georgian.edu
*Contemporary Female Playwrights in France, Chair: Edwards, Natalie, Wagner College, natalie.edwards@wagner.edu
*Il Caso Saviano, Chair: Ghelli, Samuel, York College / CUNY, sghelli@york.cuny.edu
*Shakespearean Adaptations and Appropriations, Chair: Monaco, Pamela, Brandman University, pmonaco@brandman.edu
*The Vicious Circle: The Days, Dames, and (K)nights of the Algonquin Round Table, Chair: Fagan, Cathy, Nassau Community College, cathy.fagan@ncc.edu
*Blowing Up America: Amiri Baraka’s Revolutionary Theatre, Chair: Gagnon, Donald, Western Connecticut State University, GagnonD@wcsu.edu
*Restaging Their/Our Lives: Performing Biography on the Contemporary Stage, Chair: Gilmore, Susan, Central Connecticut State University, gilmores@ccsu.edu
*Language(s) and Politics in/of Italian Theatre, Chair: Pastorino, Gloria, Fairleigh Dickinson University, gloria.pastorino@gmail.com
*Human Rights in the Italian Theatre, Chair: Cafaro, Anna, Bard College, annacafaro@hotmail.com
*Literature and the Arts: An Exemplary of Multicultural Understanding, Chair: Cerocchi, Marco, La Salle University, cerocchi@lasalle.edu
*Comparative Approaches to Early Modern Spanish and British Drama, Chair: Fernandez, Esther, Sarah Lawrence College, efernandez@slc.edu
*New Approaches to Early Modern Historical Drama, Chair: Taylor, Miles, Le Moyne College, taylorme@lemoyne.edu
*The Family in Contemporary Drama, Chair: Fifer, Elizabeth, Professor of English, Lehigh University, ef00@lehigh.edu
*Trends in 21st Century American Drama, Chair: Monaco, Pamela, Brandman University, pmonaco@brandman.edu
*Revolutionary Theater, Chair: Mastrolia, Mary Ann, Rutgers University, mmastrol@eden.rutgers.edu
*In the Wake of 9/11: American Texts in the Twenty-First Century, Chair: Perdigao, Lisa, Florida Institute of Technology, lperdiga@fit.edu
*Contemporary Theatre in South Africa, Chair: Kaebnick, Suzanne, SUNY Nassau Community College, Suzanne.kaebnick@ncc.edu.
*Legacy of Scandinavian Drama, Chair: Mabee, Barbara, Oakland University, mabee@oakland.edu

Full descriptions of individual session calls is listed online at:
http://www.nemla.org/convention/2011/cfp.html

Abstract deadline for most sessions: September 30, 2010

Please include with your abstract:

Name and Affiliation
Email address
Postal address
Telephone number
A/V requirements (if any; $10 handling fee with registration)

cfp categories: 
interdisciplinary
theatre