ANN: John G. Cawelti Award, deadline 12/31/10

full name / name of organization: 
American Culture Association/Popular Culture Association

The Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association is now accepting nominations for the 2010 John G. Cawelti Award in Popular and American Culture. John Cawelti is a pioneer in the study of Popular and American Culture. His numerous works established the basis for the study of the literature and film for the masses.

The Popular Culture/American Culture Associations solicits your nomination of noteworthy textbooks, primers, and scholarly books used in the classroom on Popular Culture and American Culture published during the calendar years 2008, 2009, or 2010 for the John G. Cawelti Award. Any author, journal, or press (academic or trade) may nominate books. The nominated book(s) can be single or multi-authored works, including edited collections. They should be serious scholarly studies, methodologically and theoretically sophisticated, demonstrating a range of knowledge about American cultural experience. The winning book can approach its subject from a variety of disciplines. For instance, methods might include anthropological, political, or other social sciences, literature or film studies, feminist analysis, biographical framework, or other cultural studies approaches. The book should be multidisciplinary and should reflect, in whatever way, the diversity of American culture. Book submissions will be judged on: 1) quality of research, scholarship, or cinematic presentation 2) originality, and 3) contribution to popular and American studies scholarship. All awards are given for works published in the within the last three years.

The deadline for submission is December 31, 2010.

The winning book will be announced at the Spring 2011 Popular Culture/American Culture Association National Convention. Recipients and publishers will be notified before the national convention. Recipients need not be present to receive the award. The selection committee is chosen by the Chairperson of the Popular Culture/American Culture Associations Board and approved by the Joint Board of the Popular Culture/American Culture Associations. Nominated books will be reviewed in The Journal of American Culture or The Journal of Popular Culture. Send all inquires to the co-chairs of the committee, listed below:

Cheri Louise Ross (
James Brian Wagaman ( )

Mail 2 copies of each nominated book to each of the co-chairs of the John G. Cawelti Award Committee who will distribute the books to the committee members.

Dr. Cheri Louise Ross
Co-Chair Cawelti Award Committee
Associate Professor of Humanities and English
Humanities/American Studies
Penn State Harrisburg
777 W. Harrisburg Pike
Middletown, PA 17057

James Brian Wagaman
Co-Chair, Cawelti Award Committee
2076 Lexington Avenue
Middletown, PA 17057