Women and Rhetoric: Influence, Inspiration, Inclusion - Proposals due Dec 12, 2011

full name / name of organization: 
Federation Rhetoric Symposium 2012

Federation Rhetoric Symposium 2012
Women and Rhetoric:
Influence, Inspiration, Inclusion

Texas Woman's University . Denton, Texas
April 20, 2012 .

A Call For Papers:

The Federation Rhetoric Symposium will provide an opportunity for a diverse group of scholars to investigate how today's rhetors are influenced by the works of women in rhetoric. Discussions are encouraged to explore how the women involved in rhetoric have influenced the way we theorize about discourse, what inspirations the women of rhetoric have provided, and how the inclusion of women in the subject of rhetoric has affected its study.
Dr. Lisa Ede, distinguished scholar of composition, rhetoric and women in rhetoric, will join us as our keynote speaker. Her scholarly work has been recognized with awards for outstanding research from the Modern Language Association, Conference on College Composition and Communication, and the International Writing Center Association.
The Federation Rhetoric Symposium is now accepting proposals for papers and panels from faculty, graduate and undergraduate students, and independent scholars investigating the ways women have impacted the study of rhetoric.

Proposals related to this year's symposium theme are especially welcomed, but proposals for papers in other areas of rhetoric are also invited. Those areas include, but are not limited to:
Rhetorical Theory, Rhetorical History, Discourse Analysis, Gender and Minority Studies, Genre Analysis, Composition Theory, Communication Studies, English Studies, Journalism, History, Film Studies, Digital Rhetoric, New Media Studies, Political Science, Critical Theory, Philosophy, ESL, Pop Culture, Rhetoric of Mass Media, Literary Studies, Rhetoric and Technology, Computers and Writing, Basic Writing, Writing Center Theory & Practice, and Disability Rhetoric

The Federation Rhetoric Symposium is part of an ongoing series titled "A Symposium in Rhetoric" that has welcomed many notable speakers since the first meeting in 1973. These keynoters have included Karlyn Kohrs Campbell, Kathleen Blake Yancey, Sonja Foss, Richard Enos, Cynthia Selfe, James Kinneavy, Kenneth Burke, Stephen Toulmin, Patricia Bizzell and many others.


A prize for the outstanding student paper will be awarded.

ELECTRONIC SUBMISSIONS PREFERRED - Send submissions to: frswomenandrhet@gmail.com

For more information please visit http://www.twu.edu/federation-rhetoric-symposium/default.asp