CFP: Science Fiction and Fantasy Area: Special Area: The Works of Joss Whedon, SW/TX PCA/ACA (12/1/11; 2/8-11/12)

full name / name of organization: 
Southwest/Texas Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association
contact email: 

Join us for the 33rd Annual Southwest/Texas Popular Culture and American Culture Associations Conference, February 8-11, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Area Chairs of the Southwest/Texas Popular Culture/American Culture Associations ( invites paper or panel proposals about the works of Joss Whedon.

Proposal submission deadline: December 1, 2011. (Please see below)

Any and all topics will be considered, although we especially encourage proposals on:
• Dollhouse
• Dr. Horrible's Sing-along Blog
• Genre transformations: Buffy and Angel's continuations and transformations into comics (Buffy season 8/Angel: After the Fall) or Firefly's transformation into Serenity, etc.
• Whedon's work on Astonishing X-Men, Runaways, Fray, and/or Tales of the Vampires/Tales of the Slayers
• The construction of place and space
• The intersections of memory, identity, and consciousness
• Socioeconomic class
• Sexuality & gender performance
• Race & ethnicity
• Teaching Joss Whedon's work
• The influence and styles of writers from the "Whedon school of television writing," such as Jane Espenson, David Greenwalt, Tim Minear, Marti Noxon, etc.
• cinematography

All topics related to the Whedonverses will be considered. Please be sure to check out the essays published in Slayage: the Journal of the Whedon Studies Association well as the multiple publications on Whedon's work prior to submitting. Familiarity with the field is expected.

Submit 250 word paper or 500 word panel proposals to: (Choose the area "Science Fiction & Fantasy – Joss Whedon." Online submission will be available after September 1. If you are experiencing difficulties with the website, please email your proposal to the address listed below.)

Direct questions to: Alyson Buckman,

Deadline for proposal submissions: December 1, 2011. Earlier proposals are welcomed and will be responded to with all due haste. The registration deadline is December 31, 2011. All participants must register by that date or they will not be permitted to present or appear in the program.

Conference hotel:
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
330 Tijeras
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 1.505.842.1234
Fax: 1.505.766.6710
Conference Rate Reservations can be made through Register early for discounted cost and to reserve space at the conference hotel as discounted rooms fill quickly.

For more details on the conference, please visit the Southwest/Texas Popular Culture/American Culture Association:

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter: and @swtxsffchairs

More about the SF&F Area:
With an average of 70+ presenters annually, The Science Fiction and Fantasy Area of the Southwest and Texas Popular Culture and American Culture Association is one of the most dynamic and well attended areas at the conference. Numerous book and article publications have originated from our panels.

The Area was founded in 1995 by Prof. Richard Tuerk of the Texas A&M University-Commerce (formerly East Texas State University) and author of Oz in Perspective (McFarland, 2007). The Area is currently chaired by Ximena Gallardo C. of the City University of New York-LaGuardia and co-author of Alien Woman: The Making of Lt. Ellen Ripley (Continuum: 2004), Alyson Buckman of the California State University-Sacramento and winner of the 2011 Mr. Pointy Award for best essay in Whedon Studies; Tamy Burnett of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, co-editor of The Literary Angel (McFarland, 2010); and Brian Cowlishaw of Northeastern State University, author of an essay on The Jetsons to The Galaxy is Rated 'G': Essays on Children's Science Fiction Film and Television. Though the co-chairs consult on submissions, Ximena is primarily responsible for the general organization of the conference panels and coordinates special panels, Alyson and Tamy coordinate the Whedonverse panels (Buffy, Firefly, Angel, and etc.), Tamy coordinates annual special topics related to SFF television, and Brian reviews and organizes the literature panels and other special topics (this year Twilight and Game of Thrones).

Area Co-Chair Names: Alyson Buckman, Tamy Burnett, Brian Cowlishaw, and Ximena Gallardo. Please consult the list of area chairs and special topics, however, if you are considering applying to a different area than this one. Thank you!