CFP CSHPS 2012 May 27-29 2012

full name / name of organization: 
The Canadian Society for the History and Philosophy of Science (CSHPS)

The Canadian Society for the History and Philosophy of Science (CSHPS) is holding its annual conference as part of the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences (CFHSS) at Wilfrid Laurier University and the University of Waterloo, May 27-29, 2012. The program committee invites historians and philosophers of science to submit abstracts for individual papers or proposals for sessions.

o In order to preserve the anonymity of presenters, it is important that contact information and other identifying information be excluded from the file containing the abstract.
o Individual paper submissions should consist of a title, a brief abstract (150-250 words), and—in the accompanying email—the presenter's name and contact information.
o Session proposals should consist of a session title, titles and abstracts (150-250 words) for each paper, and—in the accompanying email—the names and contact information of the presenters and session organizer.
o Proposals should be in MS Word, pdf, or rtf files.
o Deadline: February 1st, 2012
o Submission email address:

•Number of submissions: Individuals can only submit one abstract for the CSHPS meeting (i.e. either an abstract for an individual communication and/or abstract part of a session proposal).

•Meeting languages. The CSHPS is a bilingual society. Individual communications may be done in English or French, but efforts to broaden participation are appreciated (e.g. a presentation in English could be accompanied by a PowerPoint in French, and vice versa). Similarly, sessions can be presented in either English or French, but bilingual sessions (with some papers in French and others in English) are especially welcome.

•Joint sessions: The CSHPS meeting overlaps with the meeting dates of a number of other member societies of the CFHSS, including the Canadian Historical Association, the Canadian Philosophical Association, the Canadian Sociological Association, the Canadian Women Studies Association, and the Environmental Studies Association of Canada. We welcome proposals for joint sessions with these and other CFHSS societies. However, no submission will be accepted for presentation at more than one society.

•Membership: All presenters must be members of the CSHPS at the time of the meeting. For more information about CSHPS membership, consult:

•Student Prize: The CSHPS offers the Richard Hadden Award, a book prize for the best student paper presented at the meeting. To be considered for the award, students should submit a copy of their paper by e-mail five weeks prior to the congress (i.e., April 22, 2012) Details of this prize can be found at:

•CFHSS: Information about Congress registration and accommodation will be available at the CFHSS website:

Programme Committee (2011-2012)
Melanie Frappier, Chair (University of King's College)
Elizabeth Neswald (Brock University)
Robert Hudson (University of Saskatchewan)