Transatlantic Studies Association Conference CFP

full name / name of organization: 
Transatlantic Studies Association
contact email: 
David.ryan@ucc.ie

CALL FOR PAPERS
Transatlantic Studies Association
Annual Conference
University College Cork, Ireland,
July 9-12, 2012

The Chairman of the TSA, Prof Alan Dobson (University of Dundee and St. Andrews University) and Professor David Ryan (UCC) would like to extend an invitation to the 2012 Transatlantic Studies Association Annual Conference.

Panel proposals and individual papers are welcome for any of the general or sub-panels. A 300 word abstract of proposal and brief CV to panel leaders or to Alan Dobson a.p.dobson@dundee.ac.uk and David Ryan david.ryan@ucc.ie by 30 April 2012.

The general panels, subpanels and panel leaders for 2012 are:

1. Literature and Culture: Constance Post, cjpost@iastate.edu and Louise Walsh, walsh.lou@gmail.com

Sub-panels:
Literature, Culture, and War: Constance Post, cjpost@iastate.edu and Louise Walsh, walsh.lou@gmail.com

2. The War of 1812 and Transatlantic Affairs: A Two Hundred Year Commemoration in 2012, Simon Rofe, jsr13@leicester.ac.uk, simon.rofe@soas.ac.uk, Constance Post, cjpost@iastate.edu, Michael Cullinane, Michael.cullinane@northumbria.ac.uk

3. Economics: Fiona Venn vennf@essex.ac.uk, Jeff Engel jengel@bushschool.tamu.edu and Joe McKinney joe_mckinney@baylor.edu

4. History, Security Studies and IR: Alan Dobson a.p.dobson@dundee.ac.uk and David Ryan david.ryan@ucc.ie

Sub-panels:
I. Democracy Promotion and Nation Building In and After the Cold War: The Transatlantic Experience: Annick Cizel annick.cizel@univ-paris3.fr and Alexandra de Hoop Scheffer alexandra.dehoopscheffer@sciences-po.org
II. NATO: Ellen Hallams, EHallams.jscsc@defenceacademy.mod.uk Luca Ratti ratti@uniroma3.it, and Ben, Zyla, ben.zyla@gmail.com
III. Ethnicity and security in the transatlantic world: David Haglund david.haglund@queensu.ca
IV. Diplomats at War: The American Experience Simon Rofe jsimonrofe@le.ac.uk or simon.rofe@soas.ac.uk and Andrew Stewart AStewart.jscsc@defenceacademy.mod.uk
V. Anglo-American Relations (papers dealing with the period 1914-1963 are particularly welcome): Steve Marsh marshsi@cardiff.ac.uk Charlie Whitham Whitham, cwhitham@uwic.ac.uk and Gaynor Johnson G.Johnson@salford.ac.uk
VI. Transatlantic Relations during the Second World War: Tom Mills t.c.mills@lancaster.ac.uk and Gavin Bailey g.j.bailey@dundee.ac.uk
VII. Crossing the Water: Maritime Trade, Warfare, and Politics: John Borgonovo, J.Borgonovo@ucc.ie
VIII. Transatlantic diplomatic trends in the twentieth century and Statecraft and diplomacy: : Gaynor Johnson G.Johnson@salford.ac.uk
IX. Regional Conflicts and Transatlantic Relations from Vietnam to Libya: David Ryan david.ryan@ucc.ie
5. Planning, Regeneration and the Environment: Antonia Sagredo, asagredo@flog.uned.es and Tony Jackson a.a.jackson@dundee.ac.uk

The Donald Cameron Watt Prize
To be awarded annually by the Transatlantic Studies Association for the best paper at its annual conference by an early career scholar. Judging will be based solely on the written versions of the papers submitted, which may not necessarily be the delivery versions. Entries should be submitted by 30 April, preceding the annual conference in July. This is the final deadline and no late entries can be accepted. The full version of the paper must be submitted by this date. The delivery of the paper is not part of the assessment but candidates for the award must attend and deliver the paper at the conference.
The prize for the best paper will be awarded at the conference dinner. In addition, the paper will automatically be sent out for refereeing for publication in the Journal of Transatlantic Studies providing that it has not been submitted elsewhere.
Sum £250
Early career scholar is defined as: a PhD student; anyone within 3 years of having been awarded a PhD; anyone who has a full-time appointment at a recognised higher education institution, but has not held the post for more than 3 years and does not fall into the doctoral category.
Papers should be submitted to Gaynor Johnson g.johnson@salford.ac.uk on or before 30 April 2012 for the annual conference in July 2012

Scottish Charity Regulator: TSA Charity Number SC039378

cfp categories: 
african-american
american
bibliography_and_history_of_the_book
childrens_literature
classical_studies
cultural_studies_and_historical_approaches
ecocriticism_and_environmental_studies
eighteenth_century
ethnicity_and_national_identity
film_and_television
gender_studies_and_sexuality
general_announcements
graduate_conferences
humanities_computing_and_the_internet
interdisciplinary
international_conferences
modernist studies
poetry
popular_culture
postcolonial
religion
renaissance
rhetoric_and_composition
romantic
theatre
theory
travel_writing
twentieth_century_and_beyond