Children's Literature Association 2013 Phoenix Award panel

full name / name of organization: 
Children's Literature Association

Call for Papers:
Phoenix Award Session
Deadline: November 30, 2012

40th Annual Children's Literature Association Conference
University of Southern Mississippi, Biloxi, Mississippi
June 13-15, 2013

The Phoenix Award Committee and the Phoenix Picture Book Award Committee of the Children's Literature Association are planning a joint session at the 40th Children's Literature Association Conference, held in Biloxi, Mississippi from June 13 to 15, 2013 and hosted by the University of Southern Mississippi. The Phoenix Awards recognize books published twenty years previously that did not win a major award at the time, but that the committees have determined to be of lasting value.

Gaye Hiçyilmaz, the author of The Frozen Waterfall (FSG), is the winner of the 1993/2013 Phoenix Award. The Phoenix Honor Book Award winner is Walter Dean Myers for Malcolm X: By Any Means Necessary (Scholastic).

The very first Phoenix Picture Book Award goes to Owen, written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow). In the Small Pond, written and illustrated by Denise Fleming, was chosen as an Honor Book.

Foremost, the panel organizers seek paper proposals that focus on the winning and honor books. Papers on other books by the awarded authors and illustrators are also welcome.

Proposals are due by November 30 to one of the two chairs: Phoenix Committee Chair Lisa Rowe Fraustino ( or Phoenix Picture Book Committee Chair Linnea Hendrickson (

Authors will be notified by January 4, 2013, if their papers have been selected as part of the panel. If not selected for the panel, the authors may elect to submit their papers to the general conference; the call deadline for the 2013 ChLA conference is January 15, 2013.