Intensities: The Journal of Cult Media

full name / name of organization: 
Screen Media, Brunel University
contact email: 

Intensities: The Journal of Cult Media

Editor: Leon Hunt
Editor, Cult Media Review: Adrian Smith
Assistant Editors: Sarah Harman, Mark Adams

Intensities is a peer-reviewed online journal first launched at Cardiff University in 2001 under the editorship of Matt Hills and Sara Gwenllian Jones. It later moved to Brunel University, where it was edited by David Lavery, and is about to relaunch (again at Brunel) with Leon Hunt as its new editor. Intensities will publish two issues a year. The journal addresses all aspects of cult media including cult television, cult film, cult radio, cult comics, literary cults and cult authors, new media cults, cult figures and celebrities, cult icons, musical cults, cult geographies, historical studies of media cults and their fandoms, cult genres (e.g. science fiction, horror, fantasy, pulp fiction, Manga, anime, martial arts etc.), non-generic modes of cultishness, theorisations of cult media, relevant audience and readership studies, and work that addresses the cult media industry.

In addition to publishing refereed essays (of between 6000 and 8000 words), Intensities also features a non-refereed Cult Media Review section which will carry shorter speculative reviews, reviews of cult phenomena (e.g. cult TV series, cult films, cult novels, science fiction, comics), short critical essays, video reviews and essays, interview transcripts, conference and convention reviews and articles about aspects of industry, fan culture, production and authorship.

Call for Papers

Intensities will publish two themed issues in 2013. Submissions should be sent to before the respective deadlines. Essays should be between 6000 and 8000 words, referenced Harvard style and sent as a word document – a 200 word abstract should be sent as a separate document.

Issue 3.1 Comic Book Intensities – Comics and Cult Media

The first new issue seeks submissions dealing with comics as cult media. Topics might include:
• Cult comic book auteurs – Grant Morrison, Alan Moore, Max Bunker/Magnus, Moebius, Masamune Shirow.
• Cult films from comics – Cinefumetti, Manga and Anime, the Turkish KIlink films, Dredd 3D.
• National and international comic book cultures – French bandes dessinees, Italian fumetti, Japanese Manga.
• Comic book fan cultures – Cosplay, collecting and beyond.
• Underground and alternative traditions.
• Beyond the cape and mask – neglected comic book genres.
• From Dark Horse to Dylan Dog – Horror comics.

Deadline for submissions: January 11th 2013.

Issue 3.2 Historical Approaches to Cult TV

This issue seeks submissions examining TV shows that have acquired cult status at a historical distance – both established cult shows (The Avengers, The Prisoner, the 'classic' series of Doctor Who) and those that have received less (or possibly even no) critical attention. In addition, the papers will locate those shows (or the cults they have attracted) historically, either by drawing on archive materials or suggesting new cultural, historical or institutional contexts in which they might be understood.

Deadline for submissions: May 31st 2013

Editorial Advisory Board:
Stacey Abbott (University of Roehampton), Harry Benshoff (University of North Texas), Mark Bould (University of the West of England), Will Brooker (Kingston University, London), Mike Chopra-Gant (London Metropolitan University, Rayna Denison (University of East Anglia), David Desser (University of Illinois), Kay Dickinson (Goldsmiths University, London), David Scott Diffrient (Colorado State University), Kate Egan (University of Aberystwyth), Mark Gallagher (University of Nottingham), Mark Goodall (University of Bradford),), Matt Hills (University of Aberystwyth), Joanne Hollows (Nottingham Trent University), Peter Hutchings (University of Northumbria), Mark Jancovich (University of East Anglia), Geoff King (Brunel University), Adam Knee (Nanyang Technological University), Tanya Krzywinska (Brunel University), Lorna Jowett (University of Northampton) Marcia Landy (University of Pittsburgh), Antonio Lazaro-Reboll (University of Kent), Leung Wing Fai (University College Cork), Gina Marchetti (University of Hong Kong), Alan McKee (Queensland University of Technology), Xavier Mendik (Brighton University), Gary Needham (Nottingham Trent University), Bill Osgerby (London Metropolitan University), Alison Peirse (University of Northumbria), Bernard Perron (University of Montreal), Julian Petley (Brunel University), Roger Sabin (Central St Martin's), Jeffrey Sconce (Northwestern University), Iain Robert Smith (Roehampton University), Peter Stanfield (University of Kent), Helen Wheatley (Warwick University), Rebecca Williams (University of Glamorgan), Milly Williamson (Brunel University), Andrew Willis (University of Salford).