Steinbeck and the Politics of Crisis: Ethics, Society, and Ecology. May 1-3, 2013, San Jose/Salinas/Monterey, CA

full name / name of organization: 
Martha H. Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies at San Jose State University
contact email: 

The John Steinbeck Society of America Announces

Steinbeck and the Politics of Crisis: Ethics, Society, and Ecology
May 1-3, 2013
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Library, San Jose State University
Sponsored by the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies


Keynote Speaker: Mimi Gladstein, University of Texas, El Paso

Contributions are welcome both from the humanities and the sciences from a wide variety of theoretical applications and on topics such as deep ecology, power and subjugation, the concept of democracy and America, ethics and philosophy, international connections, animal studies, gender studies, and the like. Those wishing to present proposals for presentation can submit them online at

Proposal Deadline: Friday, February 15, 2013

Presenters may choose to submit written papers for publication in Steinbeck Review. If you are unable to attend the conference in person, virtual registrations are also available which allow you to submit a paper for refereeing and possible publication in this reputable academic journal.

Conference attendees are encouraged to stay through the weekend of May 4-5 to take advantage of the annual Steinbeck Festival held in nearby Salinas and Monterey. This event is sponsored by the National Steinbeck Center, Salinas. Discounted admission to the Steinbeck Festival will be available as an add-on to the conference registration fee.

Travel assistance of up to USD $500 is available to students (graduate or advanced undergraduate) whose papers are accepted by the conference steering committee.

Full details of the conference, including accommodations, proposed schedule, and registration fee are to be found at the conference webpage:

Conference Director
Nicholas P. Taylor, Director, Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies

Conference Steering Committee
Tom Barden, University of Toledo
Mary M. Brown, Indiana Wesleyan University
Danica Čerče, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Paul Douglass, San Jose State University
Barbara Heavilin, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Professor Emeritus, Taylor University
Luchen Li, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology