[UPDATE] - SCSECS 2013 in Austin TX Feb 21-23 2013

full name / name of organization: 
South Central Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies
contact email: 
fol_fck@shsu.edu

This year's SCSECS meeting will be held February 21-23 in Austin, Texas, the "live music capital of the world"; the conference theme will be "Frontiers of Friendships, Close and Distant."

Our conference aims to explore how people in the long eighteenth century conceived of and experienced friendships. What philosophical changes developed with regard to the idea of friendship? How did class and gender affect attitudes toward friendship? What personal, political and societal virtues supported friendship? In SCSECS's tradition of friendly openness, we welcome papers on other topics as well. Our presenters typically come from a variety of disciplines covering the period 1650-1830. For more information about SCSECS, and about the conference, please visit our website at http://www.scsecs.net

DEADLINE: Please send proposals directly to the panel organizer by December 10, 2012. If you wish to propose a paper that doesn't seem to fit in with any of the panels below, contact this year's SCSECS President directly: Frieda Koeninger, fol_fck@shsu.edu.

PANELS PROPOSED:

Women's Friendship and Networks in the Long Eighteenth Century. Catherine Jaffe, cj10@txstate.edu
Frontiers and Engagements: Friends, Lovers and Anti-Heroes. Gloria Eive, geive@silcon.com
Overlooked Texts. Colby Kullman, egcolby@olemiss.edu
Hume and the Usual Suspects. James Mock, jmock@uco.edu
Best Friends by Mail: The Past and Present Role of Electronic, Postal and Other Correspondence in Eighteenth-Century Studies. Kevin Cope, jovialintelligence@cox.net
Diverse Elements in the Thought of Jonathan Swift. Connie Capers Thorson, thorson@unm.edu
Publishers and Booksellers. Susan Spencer, sspencer@uco.edu
Origins of the Gothic. John Burke, jburke@english.as.ua.edu
The Rise of Anti-Religious Arguments as Materialism Comes of Age: Meslier, Voltaire, La Mettrie, Diderot, Holbach… Philippe Seminet, pseminet@stedwards.edu
Images of Criollo Nationalism/Identity in Spanish America. Andrew Graciano, GRACIANO@mailbox.sc.edu
Armida in Opera: Perspectives and Treatments. Janet Wolf, Janet.Wolf@cortland.edu
Friendship and Friction in the Caribbean: 1650-1850. Rafael Saumell-Munoz, FOL_RES@SHSU.EDU
From Friendship to Citizenship: 'The Ties That Bind Us.' Christopher Fritsch, stxoxfd@earthlink.net
Eighteenth-Century Spanish Literature. Madeline Sutherland-Meier, madelinesm@austin.utexas.edu
Notable Friendships: Fostering Patronage through Correspondence, spans several countries, gender issues, and personal/professional patronage issues. Lynee Lewis Gaillet, lgaillet@gsu.edu.
Imagining (Dis)Connection in the Long Eighteenth-Century. Jordan Fletcher Hobson, jhobson4@gsu.edu
Fueling Friendship: The Mutual Expenditure of Energy. Baerbel Czennia, bczennia@mcneese.edu
Adventures in Opera. Gloria Eive, geive@silcon.com
Selfhood and Freedom in the Enlightenment. Michael Matthis, Michael.matthis@lamar.edu
Religion in the Age of Enlightenment. Brett McInelly, brett_mcinelly@byu.edu
Interdisciplinary Approaches to the Long Eighteenth Century. Kathryn Stasio, kathryn.stasio@saintleo.edu

cfp categories: 
american
cultural_studies_and_historical_approaches
eighteenth_century
interdisciplinary
postcolonial
romantic
theatre
travel_writing