Call for Submissions: Rollins Book Award for Popular and/or American Culture

full name / name of organization: 
Southwest Popular and American Culture Association

The Southwest Popular and American Culture Association is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Peter C. Rollins Book Award. This prestigious award recognizes contributions to the study of popular and/or American culture studies, and in 2013 expanded to honor recipients in three categories annually:
--film/television and history
--popular culture
--sequential art/comics and animation studies

Volumes receiving this award are distinguished by their methodology and research. A variety of book-length scholarly formats are eligible including monographs, reference works, and anthologies.

Submission guidelines:
--Books published either in 2012 or 2013
--Submissions may be by single or multiple authors
--Submissions may be monographs, anthologies, or reference works
--More than one title by author or press may be submitted for consideration
--send six copies for each individual title submitted

Deadline: Submissions must be received by December 1, 2013

Award recipient(s) will be announced at the 35th Annual Southwest Popular and American Culture Association Conference, February 19 – 22, 2014, in Albuquerque, NM.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Peter C. Rollins, a distinguished scholar, champion of the study of popular and American culture, and a past leader of the Southwest Popular and American Culture Association (formerly the Southwest/Texas Popular/American Culture Association). In reference works such as The Columbia Companion to American History and Film (2004) anthologies such as Why We Fought: America's Wars in Film and History (2008) Dr. Rollins showcased the work of many individuals. His most recent publication America Reflected: Language, Satire, Film, And The National Mind (2010) provide the reader with a seasoned guide exploring the vagaries of American popular culture. Over a period of thirty years, he helped both junior and senior scholars as Associate Editor of The Journal of Popular Culture and The Journal of American Culture, as well as serving as Editor-in-Chief of Film & History: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Film and Television Studies (

Direct all correspondence to:
Tamy Burnett,PhD
Rollins Award Coordinator

Direct book shipments to the following:
If shipping by USPS:
Ken Dvorak Ph.D.,
Coordinator, Rollins Book Award Committee
PO Box 743
Alcalde, NM 87511

If shipping by UPS or Fed Ex:
Ken Dvorak, PhD
Coordinator, Rollins Book Award Committee
37 Rio Arriba County Road 38
Alcalde, NM 87511

Complete conference details and additional Rollins Award information, including past winners, can be found at: