37th Annual NJCEA Conference

full name / name of organization: 
New Jersey College English Association
contact email: 
dcasale@kean.edu

CALL FOR PAPERS AND PANELS
37th Annual New Jersey College English Association Conference
Saturday, April 12th, 2014
Seton Hall University, South Orange, NJ 07079
Keynote Speaker: Dr. Rajeswari Sunder Rajan, Global Professor of Post-Colonial Studies, New York University
Presenting on: The Novel and its Other: Orhan Pamuk’s Museum of Innocence
The New Jersey College English Association is soliciting panels and papers considering a broad range of literary and composition topics for its annual conference. The NJCEA brings together those interested in language, literature, pedagogy, and other aspects of the teaching and study of literature and writing. Paper proposals are now being accepted for the following panels (contact session convener listed below):
Experiential Learning in Literature & Composition, Convener: Melissa R. Sande, melissa.sande@ucc.edu
The Transcendentalists, Self-Perfection or Social Reform?, Convener: Dorothy Altman, daltman@bergen.edu

Getting Medieval, Convener: Angela Weisl, Angela.Weisl@shu.edu

(Re)Mapping Romanticism, Convener: Jeffrey Jackson, jejackson@monmouth.edu

Motherhood and Literature, Convener: Heide Estes, hestes@monmouth.edu

[Three possible panels] Writing Center Theory and Practice // Writing Across the Curriculum // Creative Non-Fiction, Convener: Kelly A. Shea, Kelly.Shea@shu.edu

From Class to Cloud: Writing Tools for Self-Regulating Learning,
Convener: Phillip Andrew Klobucar, Andrew.klobucar@njit.edu

[Two possible panels] Detective Fiction: What’s Left? // Responding to Students and Their Feedback, Convener: Maria Plochocki, bastet801@att.net

Decoding Myth and Mythmaking, Convener: Richard Marranca, Rmarranca@pccc.edu

Cross-Dressing and the Expression of Desire in Literature and Culture, Convener: Jan Stahl
jstahl@bmcc.cuny.edu

Politics and Memory in African Literature and Journalism, Convener: Dan Gover, dgover@kean.edu

Discovering America Again: New Immigrant Writing in the 21st Century,
Convener: Nira Gupta-Casale, ncasale@kean.edu

The Problem of Social Justice and 19th Century American Literature,
Convner: Dean Casale, dcasale@kean.edu

Current Research in Second Language Writing,
Convener: Gita DasBender, gitanjali.dasbender@shu.edu

Disability In/And Literature, Convener: James Hala, jhala@drew.edu

Anyone with an interest in other topics – in literature, composition, pedagogy – is encouraged to propose a panel or paper. Full and part-time college instructors, graduate students, and other professionals within the field of English are invited to send panel proposals and 250 word abstracts for papers on any topic related to college English to:
Dean Casale, NJCEA Conference Organizer, English Department, Kean University, 1000 Morris Ave., Union N.J. 07803; or electronically as an attachment to dcasale@kean.edu

Individual proposals should be two pages: a cover sheet including name, presentation title, affiliation, address, e-mail address, phone number, and brief biographical paragraph; and a 250-word abstract.

Panel proposals should include a coversheet—including panel title, presenters’ names, presentation titles, affiliations, addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, brief biographical paragraphs, and the name of a moderator (if possible), followed by separate abstracts (250-word) that describe the panel topic and each presentation.

GRADUATE STUDENTS:
You are cordially invited to submit papers for the NJCEA annual Graduate Student Award. The winner of this award will receive a Barnes & Noble gift certificate and have her or his paper published in College English Notes, the official publication of the NJCEA. Send complete paper and paper abstract to the conference organizer in ELECTRONIC FORM ONLY by February 26, 2014. Papers should be approximately 3000 – 3500 words in length.

N.B.: In order to be eligible to win the graduate student award, students must present their paper at the conference.

DEADLINE FOR PANEL PROPOSALS: February 26, 2014
DEADLINE FOR COMPLETED PANELS, PAPER ABSTRACTS, AND GRADUATE STUDENT PAPERS: February 26, 2014 (except where noted).

For membership information, registration forms for conference, and updates, visit our website http://www.njcea.org.

cfp categories: 
african-american
american
bibliography_and_history_of_the_book
childrens_literature
cultural_studies_and_historical_approaches
ethnicity_and_national_identity
gender_studies_and_sexuality
general_announcements
graduate_conferences
medieval
poetry
professional_topics
rhetoric_and_composition