CFP: Midwest Conference on British Studies (4/15/05; 9/22/05-9/25/05

full name / name of organization: 
Craig Dionne
contact email: 


Midwest Conference on British Studies
51st Annual Meeting

Sept. 22-25, 2005
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Indiana

The Midwest Conference on British Studies is proud to announce that its
fifty-first annual meeting will be held at the University of Notre Dame,
South Bend, Indiana.

This year's plenary speakers are: Christopher Harvie, Professor of
British and Irish Studies at Tubingen University; and Terry Eagleton,
Terry Eagleton is Professor of Cultural Theory at the University of

The MWCBS seeks papers from scholars in all fields of British Studies,
broadly defined to include those who study England, Scotland, Wales,
Ireland, and Britain's empire. Proposals for complete sessions organized
around a common theme are preferred, although proposals for individual
papers will be considered if they can be combined with others.
Especially welcome are cross-disciplinary panels and proposals for
thematic sessions or roundtable discussions on interdisciplinary issues
and teaching British history, literature and culture. The MWCBS also
encourages paper and panel submissions relating to online or
technology-based teaching and research in British Studies. Proposals
should include a 200-word abstract for each paper and a brief c.v. for
each participant, including chairs and commentators.

Possible areas of focus might include (but are not limited to):
histories of reading, visual literacy, nationalism, colonialism, and
gender. We encourage panels that include papers in both literary
studies and history.

The MWCBS welcomes papers presented by advanced graduate students and
will award a prize for the best graduate student paper given at the
conference. As always, further information is available from the MWCBS

All proposals should be submitted by April 15, 2005 to:

Craig Dionne
Program Chair, MWCBS
Department of English
Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197

Program Committee: Craig Dionne, Chair, Eastern Michigan University;
Theodore Koditschek, University of Missouri, Columbia; Martin
Wainwright, University of Akron; Jim Smyth, University of Notre Dame.

              From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
                         Full Information at
         or write Jennifer Higginbotham:
Received on Sun Dec 05 2004 - 20:38:21 EST