UPDATE: Mennonite/s Writing Conference: Beyond Borders (2/8/06; 10/26/06-10/29/06)

full name / name of organization: 
Nisly, Lamar
contact email: 

Call for Papers--Deadline extended to February 8 =20


Bluffton University
Oct. 26-29, 2006

Keynote: Kathleen Norris

Featured writers and critics: Rudy Wiebe, Jean Janzen, John Ruth, Di
Brandt, Julia Kasdorf, Hildi Froese Tiessen, Ann Hostetler, Jeff Gundy,
G. C. Waldrep, Keith Ratzlaff and many others.

Now also committed to appear: Nathan Bartel, J. L. Conrad, Todd Davis,
Cheryl Denise, Rhoda Janzen, Janet Kauffman, Joanne Lehman, Evie Yoder
Miller, Shari Wagner, Linda Wendling, and others.

Proposals for scholarly papers, creative writing presentations and
panels are sought for the fourth in a series of conferences on Mennonite
writing in the U.S. and Canada. Building on that tradition and the
burgeoning of both creative work by and about Mennonites and critical
studies of those texts, the conference will celebrate and examine this
rapidly developing literature.

Papers should be suitable for a 15-20 minute reading; panel proposals
should group 3-4 individual presentations suitable for a 75-minute
session. We encourage proposals (250-300 words) on a wide range of
topics, including but not limited to: innovative approaches to
individual authors and texts; comparative and cross-border studies;
theorizing the categories "ethnic" and "literature"; ethnic literature
beyond identity politics; the intersection of Mennonite literature and
the recent "theological turn" in high theory; literary work as
theological endeavor; considerations of older Mennonite literature,
including Martyr's Mirror; considerations of genre Amish and Mennonite
fiction; interdisciplinary and cultural studies approaches;
considerations of Mennonite writing in conversation with other ethnic
literatures; interrogations of national and religious identities as they
pertain to North American Mennonite literature; considerations of
non-fiction and life writing.

Creative proposals should be accompanied by a brief writing sample (3-4
poems or one story/essay) and a selective list of publications.

Electronic submissions preferred. Send proposals by Feb. 8, 2006 to

Jeff Gundy

Bluffton University and Conrad Grebel University College
with generous support from the Lilly Endowment, Inc., and the Marpeck

Conference planning committee:
Jeff Gundy, Bluffton University (co-chair)
Hildi Froese Tiessen, Conrad Grebel University College (co-chair)
Ervin Beck, Goshen College (emeritus)
Ann Hostetler, Goshen College
Lamar Nisly, Bluffton University
Julia Kasdorf, Penn State University
Paul Tiessen, Wilfrid Laurier University

              From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
                         Full Information at
         or write Jennifer Higginbotham: higginbj_at_english.upenn.edu
Received on Tue Jan 24 2006 - 17:19:29 EST