CFP: Canadian Studies in Australia & NZ (New Zealand) (2/28/06; 4/11/06-4/13/06)

full name / name of organization: 
Mark McGuire

ACSANZ Association for Canadian Studies in Australia & New Zealand

Final Call for papers

Dear Colleagues,

The Association for Canadian Studies in Australia and New Zealand
(ACSANZ) is pleased to announce its 2006 Conference, to be held at
the University of Otago in Dunedin New Zealand from 11-13 April.
ACSANZ is a multidisciplinary association with membership across the
humanities and the social sciences. We always welcome new members and
our conference registration includes two year membership.

Our 2006 ACSANZ Conference is entitled, "Canada and Australasia:
globalization, nations, cultures and borders."
This multidisciplinary conference will include sessions on indigenous
rights in Australia, New Zealand and Canada, on the impact of
globalisation and the "war on terror" (including the Iraq war), and
on Bills of Rights in these countries. The globalization of
literature, popular culture and movies will also be featured.
Additionally, a special session will be held on "mobility and
migration". Deadline for abstracts is 28 February 2006. All
participants are invited to submit papers for possible publication in
our journal, Australasian Canadian Studies, planned for 2007.

The convenor is Dr David MacDonald of the University of Otago,
Department of Political Studies. Email:

To join ACSANZ, complete a membership form and send a cheque ($85 for
individuals, 2 year membership fee) made out to "ACSANZ" to P.O. Box
6182, St Lucia, Qld. Australia 4067. Or just register for our 2006

Executive Members of ACSANZ and Conference Co-Convenors:
President and Convenor of Human Rights Sessions: Dr Barbara Ann
Hocking, QUT Faculty of Law, School of Justice, Kelvin Grove,
Brisbane, Qld, Australia 4059. Email:
Vice-President: Dr Stewart Gill, Principal, Emmanuel College,
University of Queensland, St Lucia, Qld, Australia 4072. Email:
Secretary and Overall Conference Convenor: Dr David MacDonald,
Department of Political Studies, University of Otago, Dunedin, New
Zealand. Email:
Treasurer: Dr Nancy Wright, Director, Centre for the
Interdisciplinary Study of Property Rights, University of Newcastle,
NSW, Australia, 2308. Email:
General member: Mark Francis, University of Christchurch, Canterbury,
New Zealand. Email:
Immediate Past-President: Associate-Professor Donald Ross, Macquarie
Graduate School of Management, Macquarie University, NSW, Australia
2109. Email:
Former Past-President: Professor Adam Shoemaker, Dean of Arts, ANU,
Canberra, ACT, 2602
Email: "Adam Shoemaker"
Conference Convenor of Indigenous Rights Sessions: Margaret
Stephenson, School of Law, the University of Queensland, Brisbane,
Qld 4072. Email:

              From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
                         Full Information at
         or write Jennifer Higginbotham:
Received on Sat Feb 11 2006 - 14:46:23 EST