CFP: Midwest Conference on British Studies 52nd Annual Meeting (4/15/06; 10/27/06-10/29/06)

full name / name of organization: 
Jason M. Kelly
contact email: 


Midwest Conference on British Studies 52nd Annual Meeting

27-29 October 2006 Indianapolis Museum of Art Indiana University-Purdue
University at Indianapolis Indianapolis, Indiana

The Midwest Conference on British Studies is proud to announce that its
fifty-second annual meeting will be hosted by Indiana University-Purdue
University at Indianapolis at the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

This year's plenary speakers are:

Linda Levy Peck (George Washington University), who will speak on "Murder,
Mayhem and Marriage in Restoration England."


Mrinalini Sinha (Pennsylvania State University), who will speak on:
"Imperial Citizenship: Britain, the United States, and the Death of a
Political Ideal."

The MWCBS seeks papers from scholars in all fields of British Studies,
broadly defined to include those who study England, Scotland, Wales,
Ireland, and Britain's empire. We welcome scholars from the broad spectrum
of disciplines, including but not limited to history, literature, political
science, gender studies and art history. Proposals for complete sessions are
preferred, although proposals for individual papers will be considered.
Especially welcome are:

· Anglo-American Relations: past and present

· Cross Disciplinary panels examining two or more approaches to British

· Roundtables devoted to the process of publishing articles in scholarly

· Paper and panel submissions relating to online or technology-based
teaching and research in British Studies. The MWCBS welcomes papers
presented by advanced graduate students and will award a prize for the best
graduate student paper given at the conference.

Proposals should include a 200-word abstract for each paper and a brief c.v.
for each participant, including chairs and commentators. All proposals
should be submitted online by April 15, 2006 to:

Phyllis L. Soybel
Program Chair, MWCBS Department of History/Social Sciences
College of Lake County
19351 W. Washington St.
Grayslake, Illinois 60030

Program Committee: Phyllis L. Soybel, Chair, College of Lake County; Craig
Dionne, Eastern Michigan University; Martin Wainwright, University of Akron;
Pam Graves, Eastern Michigan University; Johnny Twyning, University of

              From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
                         Full Information at
         or write Jennifer Higginbotham:
Received on Tue Feb 14 2006 - 11:11:02 EST