CFP: Midwest Conference on British Studies (4/1/07; 9/28/07-9/30/07)

full name / name of organization: 
Craig Dionne
contact email: 


Midwest Conference on British Studies 53rd Annual Meeting
September 28-30, 2007 at Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio.
The Midwest Conference on British Studies is proud to announce that its
fifty-third annual meeting will be hosted by Wright State University at
the Doubletree Suites Hotel in Dayton, Ohio.

The MWCBS seeks papers from scholars in all fields of British Studies,
broadly defined to include those who study England, Scotland, Wales,
Ireland, and Britain's empire. We welcome scholars from the broad
spectrum of disciplines, including but not limited to history,
literature, political science, gender studies and art history. Proposals
for complete sessions are preferred, although proposals for individual
papers will be considered. Especially welcome are:

Cross Disciplinary panels examining two or more approaches to British

Paper and panel submissions relating to online or technology-based
teaching and research in British Studies.

Anglo-American Relations: past and present
Roundtables examining new trends in British Studies

The MWCBS welcomes papers presented by advanced graduate students and
will award The Walter l. Arnstein Prize at its plenary luncheon for the
best graduate student paper given at the conference.

Proposals should include a 200-word abstract for each paper and a brief,
1 page c.v. for each participant, including chairs and commentators. For
full panels, please include a brief 200 word preview of the panel as a
whole. In addition, please place the panel proposal, and its
accompanying paper proposals and vitas in one file. Please make certain
that all contact information, particularly email addresses are correct
and current. All proposals should be submitted online by April 1, 2007 to:
Phyllis L. Soybel
Program Chair, MWCBS
Department of History/Social Sciences
College of Lake County 19351 W. Washington St.
Grayslake, Illinois 60030

Program Committee: Phyllis L. Soybel, Chair, College of Lake County;
Johnny Twyning, University of Pittsburgh; Eric Tenbus, Central Missouri
State University; Michele White, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga;
Rick Incorvati, Wittenburg University.

              From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
                         Full Information at
         or write Jennifer Higginbotham:
Received on Sun Jan 28 2007 - 15:01:21 EST