CFP: [Film] cfp-silent film

full name / name of organization: 
robert g weiner
contact email: 

Call for Papers-Silent Film SWTXPCA 2008
Call for papers-Silent Film
Deadline for submission: November 15, 2007
the 29th Annual Meeting of the
Southwest/Texas Popular and American Culture Associations
February 13â€"16, 2008
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
Albuquerque , New Mexico
 The Area Chair for Silent Film is seeking papers and presentations on ANY
aspect of Silent Film.

Some topics to consider:

D. W. Griffith’s art
Modern Silent Films and Filmmakers
Bronco Billy and the Rise of the Western
Studios and companies during the silent age
The birth of Talkies
Al Jolson
Lillian Gish
Silent Documentaries
Silent Horror films
Hitchcock’s silent movies
Birth of Science Fiction and the Fantasy Film
Edwin Porter

Please send abstract and title to area chair by November 15th.


Rob Weiner

Box 53841
Lubbock texas
 Conference Rates: Professionals, $140; Graduate students $120; Spouse,
Information about our areas of study, conference travel, lodging, and the
organization can be found on our regularly updated website:
We look forward to seeing you this winter in sunny Albuquerque where we
invite you to explore Route 66, local pueblos, hiking trails, museums, the
Sandia and Isleta casinos, area ski resorts, and nearby Santa Fe.
SW/TX PCA/ACA 2008 Conference
February 13-16, 2008
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
330 Tijeras
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 1.505.842.1234
Fax: 1.505.766.6710
This year’s keynote address will be given by Joy Harjo, an internationally
known poet, performer, writer and musician of the Mvskoke/Creek Nation. She
has published seven books of acclaimed poetry including She Had Some
Horses, In Mad Love and War, The Woman Who Fell from the Sky, and her most
recent How We Became Human: New and Selected Poems from W.W. Norton. Among
her many awards are the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Native Writers
Circle of the Americas, the Lila Wallace-Reader’s Digest Award, the New
Mexico Governor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts, and the William Carlos
Williams Award from the Poetry Society.

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Tue Oct 02 2007 - 20:06:10 EDT