CFP: [General] Delta Blues Symposium XIV

full name / name of organization: 
Thomas Williams
contact email: 

The Department of English and Philosophy at Arkansas State University
(Jonesboro campus) announces its fourteenth annual Delta Blues Symposium,
to be held 27-29 March 2008. The theme for Delta Blues Symposium XIV is
Sense of Place. Presentations are encouraged from scholars and students
of the humanities and social sciencesâ€"especially anthropology, art
history, economics, folklore studies, geography, history, literature,
musicology, political science, and sociology. As well, we seek
contributions from scholars and students of the physical and natural
        It should be emphasized that though we especially encourage
presentations dealing with the theme we welcome proposals for papers and
panels which deal with any and all aspects of the seven-state Mississippi
River Delta region or with the blues, perhaps the region’s most famous
export. We particularly invite presentations on artists who have appeared
at previous symposia (fiction writers such as Lewis Nordan, Ellen
Douglas, Scott Ely, Steve Yarbrough and Beverly Lowry; poets like
Pulitzer Prize winner Natasha Trethewey, Jo McDougall, and Sterling
Plumpp; visual artists, including James Fraher, David Rae Morris, and
Maude Schuyler Clay; and such musicians as Alvin Youngblood Hart, Kenny
Neal, Little Milton, and Billy Lee Riley). At present, scholar Theresa
Towner, novelist Jack Butler, poet Ralph Burns, and James “Super Chikan”
Johnson, musician, will be in attendance.

         Program proposals may be for individual presentations or for
panels. These should be
sent as 100-word abstracts. We also urge participation by creative
writers and other artists. Please send samples of previous work for our
consideration. The submission deadline is 22 January 2008. The
registration fee of $25.00, which covers Symposium expenses and brings a
one-year subscription to Arkansas Review, will be collected after
proposals have been accepted. Note that this fee is waived for currently
enrolled students.

        Proposals may be sent via post, e-mail, or fax to the following

                        Delta Symposium Committee
                        Department of English and Philosophy
                        PO Box 1890
                        Arkansas State University
                        State University, AR 72467
                                Phone: 870-972-3043
                                Fax: 870-972-3045
                                Further information can be had by
contacting the Delta Symposium Committee or by checking the Symposium

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Mon Jan 07 2008 - 14:04:19 EST