UPDATE: [Theory] The Booker Prize and India

full name / name of organization: 
Dr.Nilanshu Kumar Agarwal
contact email: 

A full-length novel written by a citizen of the Commonwealth, the
Republic of Ireland or Zimbabwe is eligible for the Booker Prize. The
reputation of the prize is sure to transform the fortunes of the author
who receives it. This prestigious prize has been won by four Indiansâ€"
Salman Rushdie (Midnight’s Children, 1981), Arundhati Roy (The God of
Small Things, 1997), Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss, 2006) and
Aravind Adiga (The White Tiger, 2008). With the award of this prize to
Indians, Indian Writing in English (IWE) has become a force to be
reckoned with. The present anthology of critical essays proposes to
analyse the above Booker-winning novels and the general subject of the
Booker and India.The title of the anthology will be The Booker Prize and
Previously unpublished research papers are invited from scholars. The
following will be considered as falling within the scope of this
- papers on any of the four novels
- comparative studies involving these novels with the other works by
their authors or works by other IWE writers
- papers on other IWE works that were longlisted or shortlisted for the
- general studies on the subject of "the Booker and India "
Papers should be marked by sharp critical acumen and analyze the novels
in the light of contemporary critical thought.
The deadline for the submission of papers is August 31, 2009.
Papers may be sent to Dr. Nilanshu Kumar Agarwal {Senior Lecturer in
English, Feroze Gandhi College , Rae Bareli (U.P.), India } at the
following email:

 From the Literary Calls for Papers Mailing List
             more information at
Received on Mon Feb 16 2009 - 01:25:27 EST