Journal of British and Irish Innovative Poetry (Submissions Deadline 17 April 2009)

full name / name of organization: 
Gylphi Limited
contact email: 

Professor Robert Sheppard ( Edge Hill University
Dr Scott Thurston ( University of Salford
Reviews editor:
Piers Hugill ( University of Southampton

Call for Submissions: Journal of British and Irish Innovative Poetry


Gylphi: Arts and Humanities Publisher (

We are currently looking for academic articles and reviews for our first issue and beyond.

The journal is focused upon the poetic writings that have been written in Britain and Ireland since the late 1950s that appear under various names. The names include: avant-garde, underground, linguistically innovative, second-wave Modernist, non-mainstream, the British Poetry Revival, the parallel tradition, formally innovative, neo-modernist and experimental poetry. Particular areas of the field have been known as the Cambridge School, the London School, concrete poetry, and performance writing.

While the equivalent North American work is well-represented in academic work, researchers on this British and Irish poetry have no dedicated referred journal, although a number of important books have been published lately.

The Journal aims to answer a lack in the academic market, by proposing to provide a home for critical articles on the history, context, close reading and poetics of this work, generally of 5,000-8,000 but with a maximum 10,000 words, and to carry short reviews (up to 2,000 words) of the stream of monographs and edited volumes in the area. It is intended to appear twice a year, starting in September 2009.

Because one of the growing academic contexts for the development of debate about this contemporary writing is within creative writing teaching, learning and research, the Journal is proposing to carry critical writing that derives from practice-led research and poetics. It is also proposing to occasionally consider questions of the pedagogy of teaching both the reading and writing of innovative poetry.

Please contact either or both of the editors for further information.

Submissions may also be submitted electronically through the website

Feel free to forward this to interested parties.

Editorial Board

Professor Peter Barry (University of Wales at Aberystwyth)

Dr Caroline Bergvall (University of Southampton)

Professor Charles Bernstein (University of Pennsylvania)

Dr Andrea Brady (Queen Mary College, University of London)

Dr Ian Davidson (University of Wales at Bangor)

Professor Alex Davis (University College Cork)

Professor Allen Fisher (Manchester Metropolitan University)

John Hall (formerly of Dartington College of the Arts)

Professor Robert Hampson (Royal Bedford and Holloway College, University of London)

Professor Romana Huk (University of Notre Dame)

Elizabeth James (Victoria and Albert Museum)

Professor Tony Lopez (University of Plymouth)

Dr Anthony Mellors (Birmingham City University)

Professor Peter Middleton (University of Southampton)

Dr Ian Patterson (Queens; College, University of Cambridge)

Emereta Professor Marjorie Perloff (Stanford University)

Professor William Rowe (Birkbeck College, University of London)

Professor Keith Tuma (Miami University, Ohio)

Professor Tim Woods (University of Wales at Aberystwyth)