SC4:The Slayage Conference on the Whedonverses (fourth biennial)

full name / name of organization: 
Rhonda V. Wilcox / Gordon College; Whedon Studies Association; Slayage: The Journal of the Whedon Studies Association

SC4: The Fourth Biennial Slayage Conference on the Whedonverses
June 3-6, 2010, Flagler College, St. Augustine, FL

Slayage: The Online International Journal of Buffy Studies ( and the Whedon Studies Association solicit your proposal for the fourth Slayage Conference: The Slayage Conference on the Whedonverses (SC4), sponsored by Flagler College. This conference dedicated to the imaginative universe(s) of Joss Whedon—the Jossverse(s) or Whedonverse(s)—will be held on the campus of Flagler College in Saint Augustine, Florida, June 3-6, 2010. Drs. Tamara and James Wilson of Flagler's Department of English will be local arrangements chairs.

We welcome a proposal of 200-300 words (or an abstract of a completed paper) on any aspect of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, Serenity, Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, Dollhouse, his comics (e.g. Fray, Astonishing X-Men, Runaways, Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season Eight), or any element of the work of Whedon and his collaborators. We invite presentations from the perspective of any discipline: literature, history, communications, film and television studies, women's studies, philosophy, religion, linguistics, music, cultural studies, and others. Discussions of the text, the social context, the audience, the producers, the production, and more are all appropriate. For a lengthy but not exhaustive list of possible topics, see All proposals/abstracts should demonstrate familiarity with already-published scholarship in the field, which includes over a score of books and, of course, eight years of Slayage.

Papers are limited to a maximum reading time of 20 minutes. Please fill out the Word form to be found at and send as an e-mail attachment to program chairs Dr. David Lavery and Dr. Rhonda V. Wilcox via Proposals for complete panels are also accepted. Submissions by undergraduates and graduate students are welcome; however, undergraduate students should provide the name, email, and phone number of a faculty member willing to consult with them (the faculty member does not need to attend).

Proposals must be submitted by December 1, 2009. Requests for extensions after that date will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Slayage Editorial Board members
Dr. David Lavery, Ph.D., founding editor, Middle Tennessee State University
Dr. Rhonda Wilcox, Ph.D., founding editor, Gordon College (USA)
Dr. Stacey Abbott, Roehampton University (UK)
Dr. Michael Adams, Indiana University (USA)
Dr. Gerry Bloustien, University of South Australia (Australia)
Dr. Viv Burr, University of Huddersfield (UK)
Dr. Lynne Edwards, Ursinus College (USA)
Dr. Greg Erickson, Mannes College (USA)
Dr. Lorna Jowett, University College, Northampton (UK)
Roz Kaveney, Independent Scholar, London (UK)
Dr. Tanya Krzywinska, Brunel University (UK)
Dr. Matthew Pateman, University of Hull (UK)
Dr. Patricia Pender, Pace University (USA)
Dr. Elizabeth Rambo, Campbell University (USA)
Dr. Jana Riess, Religion Book Editor, Publishers Weekly (USA)
Dr. James B. South, Marquette University (USA)
Dr. Sue Turnbull, La Trobe University