ReFocus:The International Director Series

deadline for submissions: 
June 27, 2024
full name / name of organization: 
Edinburgh University Press
contact email: 

In 2015, the University of Edinburgh Press launched a multivolume series of scholarly, refereed anthologies entitled ReFocus. Edited by Robert Singer (CUNY) Gary D. Rhodes (University of Central Florida), and Stefanie Van de Peer (University of Exeter), each book focuses on a critically overlooked film director who worked in the studio system, independent cinema, mainstream cinema, experimental filmmaking, or the documentary tradition. Volumes published so far in this series include: Susanne Bier, Xavier Dolan, Francis Veber, Teuvo Tulio, Sohrab Shadid Saless, and Pedro Costa, with many more in preparation.

ReFocus features a series of contemporary methodological and theoretical approaches to the interdisciplinary analyses and interpretations of the work of international film directors, from the once-famous to the ignored, in direct relationship to inter/national cultures --its myths, values, and historical precepts. This series will consider any director who created a historical space, beginning with the origins of cinema and continuing up to the present. This research may include work in other media such as television.

We are now soliciting on-line proposals by potential editors/authors for new ReFocus editions. We are especially interested in proposals for the following international filmmakers:

• Agnes Varda
• Fanta Regina Nakro
• Gaston Kabore
• Jenna Bass
• Agnès Jaoui
• Jafar Panahi
• Youssef Chahine
• Ernst Lubitsch
• Guru Dutt
• Kinji Fukasaku
• Gaspar Noe
• David Cronenberg
• Bernardo Bertolucci
• Jean-Luc Godard
• Michel Khleifi
• Elia Suleiman
• Djibril Diop Mambety
• Haile Gerima
• Friedrich Murnau
• Max Ophuls
• Satyajit Ray
• Bela Tarr
• Istvan Szabo
• Peter Weir
• Michael Apted
• Mike Figgis
• Stephen Frears
• Neil Jordan
• Mike Leigh
• Margarethe von Trotta
• Vera Chytilová
• Euzhan Palcy
• Lina Wertmuller
• Chen Kaige
• Li Shaohong
• Vittorio DeSica
• Rene Clement
• Yasujiro Ozu
• Leni Riefenstahl
• Kaneto Shindo
• Mikhail Kalatozov
• Takashi Miike
• Kiyoshi Kurosawa
• Alejandro Jodorowsky
• Carol Reed
• Lotte Reiniger
• Agnieszka Holland
• Claire Denis
• Mira Nair
• Nouri Bouzid
• Simone Bitton
• Brigitte Roüan
• Samira Makhmalbaf
• Suggest a director

If you are interested in editing/authoring such a volume, or have any related questions, please attach a curriculum vitae to your abstract/proposal and email to all three editors:

Gary D. Rhodes,

Stefanie Van de Peer,

Robert Singer,