Dissertation prize (medieval)

deadline for submissions: 
January 15, 2017
full name / name of organization: 
Canadian Society of Medievalists
contact email: 

The 2016 Leonard Boyle Dissertation Prize

The competition for The 2016 Leonard Boyle Dissertation Prize for Medieval Studies is currently open. This prize will be awarded to an outstanding dissertation in any field of medieval studies. The dissertation must be written by a Canadian or by someone resident in Canada. Entries are adjudicated by the Dissertation Prize Committee, a subcommittee of the Canadian Society of Medievalists (CSM). The prize consists of a cash award as well as a membership in the CSM for three years. Members automatically receive copies of the journal Florilegium and the CSM's newsletter “Scrinium.”

For the current competition, new PhD holders who defended their dissertations in 2016[1]  are invited to submit their work. For consideration in the competition, an applicant should submit the following documents by January 15, 2017, to the Chair of the Committee: (a) one paper copy of the dissertation, (b) one electronic copy of the dissertation, (c) a letter or report from the supervisor, and (d) either (i) an external report or (ii) a letter from an additional member of the dissertation committee. Canadians who completed their dissertations at foreign institutions must also provide proof of citizenship, such as a photocopy or digital scan of a passport.

Please address inquiries and applications to this year's Chair of the Committee:

Dr. Lynn Arner
Dept. of English
1812 Sir Isaac Brock Way
Brock University
St. Catharines, Ontario L2S 3A1


[1] The current competition is the transitional year regarding the date parameters for this prize. Henceforth, the year of the award will be announced in the prize title, and the dissertation must have been defended in the stated year. For this competition only, the committee will accept dissertations defended late in 2015 if the PhD was officially conferred in 2016. (However, no dissertation entered in last year’s competition can be re-entered this year.)