Deadline Extended! Papers on Tim O'Brien

deadline for submissions: 
December 29, 2017
full name / name of organization: 
Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature
contact email: 

Call for Papers

Papers and Presentations on Mark Twain Award Winner Tim O’Brien

Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature Annual Symposium

May 17-19, 2018

Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center, East Lansing, Michigan


The Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature (SSML) is pleased to announce that the 2018 Mark Twain Award for Distinguished Contributions to Midwestern Literature will be presented to author Tim O’Brien.  We will be dedicating a panel or panels to O’Brien’s work at our 2018 symposium and are interested in soliciting paper presentations dedicated to any and all aspects of O’Brien’s work.  We would particularly be interested in presentations that focus on Midwestern aspects of his writing, the relationship of Minnesota to his work, or on O’Brien in contrast with other Midwestern writers.   Interdisciplinary proposals, such as those that explore O’Brien’s work through the lens of history, psychology, sociology, etc., would also be welcome.


Please submit a 250 word proposal and brief bio to Professor Sara Kosiba ( no later than December 29, 2017.  All presenters must be members of SSML by the time of the symposium in order to be eligible to present.  For more information about the symposium or about SSML, check out our website: