Essays on T. S. Eliot Complete Prose

deadline for submissions: 
April 1, 2019
full name / name of organization: 
Jayme Stayer, John Carroll University
contact email: 

For a proposed volume celebrating The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot, co-editors Jayme Stayer and Anthony Cuda are soliciting abstracts for original essays on aspects of Eliot’s work that pertain to his non-fiction prose. The volume will be dedicated to the General Editor of The Prose, Ronald Schuchard, to honor his influence in the fields of Eliot studies and modernism. Essays may fall into the following categories, but are not limited to what is described here:

  • original readings of the poems or plays that make use of the less familiar prose as context
  • assessments of Eliot’s role as cultural commentator, literary critic, or Christian apologist
  • explorations of how Eliot’s prose engages with modernism, culture, politics, theology or contemporary art
  • analyses of how newly published pieces or newly annotated pieces shed different light on an aspect of Eliot’s work
  • descriptions of an arc or trajectory in Eliot’s thought that is revealed by the chronological presentation of the prose, and/or newly published pieces
  • descriptions of a trajectory of an important or newly discovered idea or theme
  • stylistic or linguistic analyses of the prose
  • discussions of the mutually informing relationships between the new editions of the prose and the letters
  • a “guide” or “handbook” approach to a complex or recurrent idea in the prose


Send a 300-word abstract and a brief CV by Apr. 1, 2019 to Jayme Stayer ( Finished essays will be due sometime in early 2020.


Jayme Stayer is Associate Professor of Literature at John Carroll University, president of the International T. S. Eliot Society, and co-editor of Volume 5 of The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot.

Anthony Cuda is Associate Professor of English at the University of North Carolina-Greensboro, co-editor of Volume 2 of The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot, author of The Passions of Modernism: Eliot, Yeats, Woolf, and Mann (2010).