(extended deadline) Bartleby in Byblos: Not Reading Now | MLA 2020

deadline for submissions: 
March 28, 2019
full name / name of organization: 
Brendan Beirne
contact email: 

How do emergent and traditional forms of nonreading shape literary discourses and the political commons? Topics might range across censorship, banned books, the performative opting-out of would-be readers, audio books, voice search, reading optimization hacks, internet click boycotts, retractions, meas culpa, trigger warnings, cultural appropriation, canon cold wars, Mentor Box, the rise of podcasting / Spotify's acquisition of Anchor and Gimlet. Salman Rushdie, Zadie Smith, Martin Heidegger, Elaine Freedgood, Emily Apter, Leah Price, Michael Warner, Pierre Bayard, David Foster Wallace, Amy Hungerford, Stephanie Burt, Anders Carlson-Wee, Carmen Giménez Smith, Franco Moretti, Naval Ravikant. Special Session, MLA 2020 in Seattle 250 word abstracts. Submission Deadline: Monday, 28 March 2019