Twenty-First Century Perspectives on Kazuo Ishiguro

deadline for submissions: 
December 13, 2019
full name / name of organization: 
University of Wolverhampton

Twenty-First Century Perspectives on Kazuo Ishiguro

The University of Wolverhampton, UK
Saturday, 1 February, 2020

Keynote: Cynthia Wong (University of Colorado, Denver, USA)

Kazuo Ishiguro remains one of the finest writers of our times, yet, as the twenty-first century world is changing, how do we see these new, turbulent times reflected in his body of work? The early twenty-first century presents us with a host of new, pressing contexts and challenges, from concerns about climate change and technological innovation to LGBT issues and shifts in geopolitical power. To what extent does Ishiguro’s writing anticipate and comment on the early twenty-first century Zeitgeist? Surely, The Remains of the Day anticipates Brexit, Never Let Me Go argues against posthumanism, whilst The Buried Giant comments on our distracted, amnesiac times. This conference invites critical and creative responses that situate Ishiguro’s work in new ways and/or in new contexts.

We invite (position) papers, panels, and creative responses to Ishiguro’s work. Next to critical responses, we are scheduling an impact programme during the Wolverhampton Literature Festival with a screening of The Remains of the Day; a masterclass on Never Let Me Go; and the worldwide premiere of The Ishiguro Songbook, including The Ryder Suite, a song cycle adaptation of The Unconsoled

Please send paper proposals to The deadline for submissions of abstracts is Friday, 13 December, 2020. For further information, please contact Professor Sebastian Groes on   

Conference organisers: Professor Sebastian Groes (Wolverhampton, UK), Max Berghege (Wolverhampton, UK), Ana-Karina Schneider (Lucian Blaga University, Romania), Kristian Shaw (Lincoln, UK), Peter Sloane (Lincoln, UK), Lina Strempel (Bamberg University, Germany), Professor Jason Tougaw (CUNY, USA).  

Contributions by, amongst others, Jeannette Baxter (Anglia Ruskin, UK), Andrew Bennett (Bristol University, UK), Christine Berberich (University of Portsmouth, UK), Max Berghege (University of Wolverhampton, UK), Peter Childs (Newman University, UK), Laura Colombino (University of Genova, Italy), Dominic Dean (University of Sussex, UK), Robert Eaglestone (Royal Holloway, University of London, UK), Carla Fusco (University G. D’Annunzio of Chieti, Italy), Sebastian Groes (University of Wolverhampton, UK), Emily Horton (Brunel University, UK), David James (University of Birmingham, UK), Barry Lewis (University of Sunderland, UK), Liani Lochner (Université Laval, Canada), Ulrika Maude (Bristol University, UK), Takahiro Mimura (Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan), Shinya Morikawa (Hokkai-Gakuen University, Japan), Sean Matthews (University of Nottingham, UK), Ana-Karina Schneider (Lucian Blaga, Romania), Kristian Shaw (University of Lincoln, UK), Anni Shen (Yale University, USA), Takayuki Shonaka (Kyoto University of Foreign Studies, Japan), Ivan Stacy (Beijing Normal University, China), Peter Sloane (University of Lincoln, UK), Lina Strempel (University of Bamberg, Germany), Motoko Sugano (Tsurimu University, Yokohama, Japan), Yoshiki Tajiri (University of Tokyo, Japan), Jerrine Tan (Mount Holyoke College, USA), Yugin Teo (Bournemouth University, UK), Jason Tougaw (CUNY, USA), Paul-Daniel Veyret (Université de Montaigne Bordeaux 3, France), Sara Upstone (Kingston University, UK), Cynthia Wong (University of Colorado Denver, USA), Hülya Yıldız (Middle East Technical University, Turkey)

Conference website: