A Handbook of Indian Indie Cinema (Routledge, 2022)

deadline for submissions: 
December 15, 2021
full name / name of organization: 
Jayjit Sarkar and Anik Sarkar

A Handbook of Indian Indie Cinema (Routledge, 2022)

Edited by

Jayjit Sarkar

Anik Sarkar

Each year, a large number of Indian Indie films are released that suffer from lack of viewership even when it comes to their target audience, not to mention critical assessments: films that are regional, experimental in nature or have fresh, timely interventions. Many among these deserve recognition, not only from general audiences and moviegoers but also from film scholars and the academia. With the onset of streaming sites and OTT platforms, some of these have made it to the limelight, although a systematic handbook that discusses many of these films is currently, absent.

We look forward to filling this gap by compiling a handbook of Indian indie films that also sets to capture the various conceptual paradigms and divergences that are offered through close engagements.

We welcome abstracts of not more than 300 words along with a bio-note (of not more than 100 words) at this mail: indiecinemavolume@gmail.com. Please make sure that you write on a single film or in a special case, a trilogy (ex: Ray or Mrinal Sen's Calcutta Trilogy). The last date for the submission of abstracts is December 15, 2021.

Essays of 4000 words should be case studies: having insights on the background, direction, production, distribution, and afterlife of such films, building up a case for them as ‘indie’ films and engaging with important thematic concerns that underlie them are expected by April 30, 2022. They can also include aesthetic style, production contexts, issues related to the Indie film’s entanglements with mainstream industries or OTT platforms, or censorship.

We already have chapters on the following films:


Satyajit Ray’s Aranyer Din Ratri (1970)

Rituporno Ghosh’s Bariwali (2000)

Mira Nair’s Monsoon Wedding (2001)

Rituparno Ghosh’s The Last Lear (2007)

Navdeep Singh’s Manorama Six Feet Under (2007)

Kiran Rao’s Dhobi Ghat (2010)

Onir’s I Am (2010)

Q’s Gandu (2010)

Dibakar Banerjee’s Love, Sex and Dhoka (2010)

Rituparno Ghosh’s Chitrangada: The Crowning Wish (2012)

Rajat Kapoor’s Ankhon Dekhi (2013)

Ritesh Batra’s The Lunchbox (2013)

Nagraj Manjule’s Fandry (2013)

Shonali Bose’s Margarita with a Straw (2014)

Hansal Mehta’s Aligarh (2015)

Neeraj Ghaywan’s Masaan (2015)

Leena Yadav’s Parched (2015)

Konkona Sen Sharma’s A Death in the Gunj (2016)

Rima Das’ Village Rockstars (2017)

Lijo Jose Pellisery’s Angamaly Diaries (2017)

Kaushik Ganguly's Nagarkirtan (2017)

Nishil Sheth’s Bhasmasur (2017)

Rima Das’ Bulbul Can Sing (2018)

Aditya Vikram Sengupta's Jonaki (2018)

Rohena Gera’ Sir (2018)

Rahi Anil Barve’s Tumbbad (2018)

Lijo Jose Pellissery’s Ee.Maa.Yau (2018)

Anand Patwardhan's Vivek (2018)

Praveen Morchhale’s Widow of Silence (2018)

Bhaskar Hazarika’s Aamis (2019)

Nicholas Kharkongor’s Axone (2019)

Arati Kadav’s Cargo (2019)

Achal Mishra’s Gamak Ghar (2019):

Lijo Jose Pellissery’s Jallikattu (2019)

Prateek Vats’ Eeb Allay Ooo!  (2019)

Jeo Baby’s The Great Indian Kitchen (2021)


Note: We are looking for entries on parallel films, films between the years 1970-1999 and 2002-2006. Please make sure that they are “indie” films. It could be:

1)    Hazaaron Khwaishein Aisi (2005)

2)    English, August (1994)

3)    Mr. and Mrs. Iyer (2002)

4)    Being Cyrus (2006)

5)    Uski Roti (1969)

6)    Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro (1983)

7)    Mirch Masala (1987)

8)    Ankur (1974)

9)    Mrinal Sen’s Calcutta Trilogy (1971-1973)