Thatcher's Ministers

deadline for submissions: 
April 15, 2022
full name / name of organization: 
The Thatcher Network
contact email: 

THATCHER’S MINISTERS: Conference and Essay Collection

Conference to be held in central London on 23rd and 24th June 2022


This year’s Thatcher Network conference invites papers which consider the role that members of Margaret Thatcher’s cabinets played in shaping and delivering ‘Thatcherism’.

The conference, and the book project that will follow, will look beyond Thatcher as the dominant political figure of the 1980s and consider the significance of key ministers, like Michael Heseltine, Geoffrey Howe and Keith Joseph.

We invite abstracts of 200 words for 20-minute papers, to subsequently be written up as book chapters, which examine the influence and impact of Thatcher’s cabinet ministers, their achievements and their failures. We are interested in understanding their contribution to the wider Thatcher project.

Conference presentations may be given by Zoom if the speaker is not based in the UK.

We will consider submissions on any member of Thatcher’s cabinets, but especially welcome contributions on:

Geoffrey HoweNigel LawsonCecil ParkinsonNorman TebbitKenneth BakerKenneth ClarkBaroness YoungNorman FowlerLord HailshamWilliam WhitelawJohn NottFrancis PymLord CarringtonKeith JosephMichael HeseltineJohn Major

As all but one of the subjects of the book are, unavoidably, male, we especially welcome contributions from female scholars.

Please send abstracts to by Friday 15th April 2022