Online Conference: Women and Comedy 1890 - 1950

deadline for submissions: 
March 10, 2022
full name / name of organization: 
International Conference of The Elizabeth von Arnim Society

Online Conference: Women and Comedy 1890 - 1950

(Sponsored by the International Conference of The Elizabeth von Arnim Society)

17th- 18th September 2022


Having accepted papers on a range of fascinating writers and topics, we have responded to feedback from international participants and have decided to convert this conference from a face-to-face event in Cambridge to a fully-online event.


As a result, we’re delighted to open the conference to those who were unable to join us in person but are interested in participating online, via this supplementary call for papers.


As before, we’re looking for papers on any aspect of women’s writing and comedy within the period 1890 – 1950, with a particular focus on Anglophone writing.

 Topics may include, but are not restricted to:

Comedy and first-wave feminism (the New Woman; suffragettes)

Forms of comedy (satire/farce/irony/parody)

Comedy and class (vaudeville; middlebrow; surrealism)

Types/tones of comedy (dark humour; gentle humour; )

Genres of comedy (comedy of manners; romantic comedy; screwball comedy)

Comedic writing for performance (film; radio; stand-up)

Carnivalesque fiction

Comedy and the transgressive (scatological humour, sexual humour)

Critical and popular reception of comedic writing

We are interested in the work of any writer of the period, canonical or little-known, and either literary or popular/genre texts. Writings considered may be fiction, poetry or prose. Suggested examples include Dorothy Parker, Virginia Woolf, Stella Gibbons, E. M Delafield, D. E. Stevenson, Nancy Mitford, Elizabeth von Arnim, Carolyn Wells, Stevie Smith, Sylvia Townsend Warner, Ella Hepworth Dixon, Mona Caird, Anita Loos, Zora Neale Hurston and Constance Rourke, though other writers are welcomed.

Abstracts of 300 words and brief biographical details should be sent to the conference organisers, Nick Turner, Isobel Maddison, Noreen O’Connor and Jennifer Shepherd, by March 10, 2022. Email address: