6th Public History Summer School

deadline for submissions: 
March 12, 2023
full name / name of organization: 
Institute of History, University of Wrocław

The Historical Institute of the University of Wrocław, Poland (HI UWr), the Luxembourg Centre for Contemporary and Digital History at the University of Luxembourg (C2DH), Zajezdnia (Depot) History Centre, the International Federation for Public History, and the Commission for Public History of the Committee of Historical Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences invite students, PhD candidates and practitioners to participate in the sixth Public History Summer School to be held in hybrid format (on-site and on-line), 12-16 June 2023.

If you are interested in how history functions in the public sphere, the summer school will give you an opportunity to broaden your interests and enrich your experience. The event will combine lectures, workshops and debates concerning methodology and specific case studies delivered by specialists in the field, as well as presentations of individual and collaborative projects.

We strongly encourage graduate and postgraduate students, professionals, as well as those without institutional affiliation but conducting interesting public history projects to submit their proposals. They may include (but need not be limited to):

– Public history of things

– Ethical aspects of doing history

– Historical narratives

– History & politics

– History & memory

– E-history

– Digital humanities

– Oral history

– Visual history

– Museums, exhibitions, archives

– Festivals and reenactments

– History of education

– Historical journalism

– Popularisation of history

– History & media

– History-related games

– Project management

To apply, send an abstract of your paper (max. 350 words) followed by a short biographical note - your education, current research, publications/major achievements and research interests.

Application form is available at:


All participants who will come to Wrocław from abroad and present their research on-site will receive a scholarship of 5 000 PLN (c. 1040 EUR / 1130 USD). The scholarship will be paid upon arrival and it should cover transportation, accommodation, food, insurance and any medical fees. The organisers do not handle reservations.

Organisation Committee

Joanna Wojdon (University of Wrocław)

Dorota Wiśniewska (University of Wrocław)

Thomas Cauvin (University of Luxembourg)

Scientific Committee

David Dean (Carleton University)

Tanya Evans (Macquarie University, IFPH President)

Victoria Hoyle (University of York)

Wojciech Kucharski (Zajezdnia History Centre)

Malgorzata Rymsza-Pawlowska (American University)

Przemysław Wiszewski (University of Wrocław)